The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2004, 11:13am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
10-3-4 states that it is a player technical foul to grasp either BASKET during the the time of the officials' jurisdiction.

The BASKET is more than just the ring. 1-10-1 tells us that the basket consists of the ring, its flange and braces, and the net.

I would probably assess a T for this AND call basket interference if the ball contacted the ring while it was still moving.

In the case cited by tjchamp, I don't give a T to a player that accidentally got his fingers caught in the net. Just basket interference if anything.

Agree. Wasn't there something issued somewhere in the last coupla years on a case like this? I remember seeing something, but I can't remember where I saw it. Maybe in NCAA?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1