![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
A ball which is team control is also in their possession but a team can have possession without team control...during a throwin, during the dead ball which precedes a throwin.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 4-3 says that alternating possession is set when the ball is given to or placed at the control of a FT shooter or a player throwing the ball in. Please let me know how you can shoot or dribble the ball on a throw-in, or pass the ball on a free throw. Also see Camron's quote-"A team can have possession without team control- ...pass... throw-in" [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 19th, 2004 at 04:32 PM] |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Why are we talking about possession? Who cares about possession? This is a question about a backcourt violation; possession is completely irrelevant to the issue. In order to know whether the original sitch is legal or not, we need to know if there was team control.
Hotlink could be right or wrong; I don't know. But I don't care, either. It's irrelevant. Was there team control when the ball went to the backcourt or not? That's the only relevant question.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|