The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2004, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: coach takes a charge

Quote:
Originally posted by Hotlink501
how can you say that you would hold your whistle until the lay up is finished and then blow it.
Hotlink, there is a casebook play on each type of situation (one case that discusses an injury, and one that discusses a technical foul). In the case of a T on the defensive coach, the interpretation is that you wait to call the T b/c you don't want to take the advantage away from the driving offense. So. . .

A1 attacking the basket.

Coach B makes inappropriate comment.

Official allows A1 to complete his play (completing a play means releasing a try or withholding the ball from play).

Official assesses technical foul to Coach B.

The thing to remember, tho, is that this case only applies in a situation where the defensive coach commits the unsporting act. If a member of the offensive team commits any type of foul, the ball becomes dead immediately unless the try is already in flight.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1