The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   running the endline (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17053-running-endline.html)

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 20, 2004 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by todd66
So, you are saying that if A1 fouls B1 after he catches the inbounds pass and the bonus is not in effect, then the ball would be put in play with a spot throw-in because the throw-in ended when B1 touched the ball before the foul?
Correct.

thumpferee Tue Dec 21, 2004 08:04am

You would also retain the right to run the endline after a made basket if a timeout is called before the throw-in!

roadking Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:04am

can a player dribble the ball when running the end line after a made basket?

thumpferee Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
can a player dribble the ball when running the end line after a made basket?
Yes!

roadking Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:44pm

can you give me the rule reference to being able to dribble out of bounds after a made basket. thanks

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
can you give me the rule reference to being able to dribble out of bounds after a made basket. thanks
NFHS case book play 9.2.2SitD

thumpferee Tue Dec 21, 2004 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
can you give me the rule reference to being able to dribble out of bounds after a made basket. thanks
NFHS case book play 9.2.2SitD


Thank You JR!

roadking Tue Dec 21, 2004 05:01pm

ok, i can't find my case book, is there a place on the web that i can look at the case book? or will someone reply back with this specific rule on (9.2.2). i had a coach ask me the other day if its legal but could not find the answer in the rule book.

nine01c Tue Dec 21, 2004 06:34pm

The reason you can't find it is because it is not there, exactly. Rule 9-2 addresses Throw-In Provisions. It states that the player shall not violate the provisions governing the throw-in. Then it lists 10 Articles stating what the thrower shall not do. Dribbling the ball OOB during the throw-in is NOT listed as a no-no.
Thus, it is legal (in both running and spot throw-ins).

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 21, 2004 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by nine01c
The reason you can't find it is because it is not there, exactly.

Not there? :confused: Um, I referenced casebook play 9.2.2SitD:

Casebook play 9.2.2SitD--<i>A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in.
RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in"</i>.

Couldn't be plainer. What's the confusion?

nine01c Tue Dec 21, 2004 07:26pm

As I understood it, Roadking was asking for the Rule reference that case play 9.2.2 describes. If a coach asks him again, he wanted to be able to state the Rule
(I thought). So, I was trying to point out how he could back up the legal dribbling using Rule 9-2. Even though case book plays are helpful and go into more detail, they are only tools. We should be able to prove anything that is either legal or illegal using the Rule Book. Sorry I was so dumb.

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 21, 2004 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by nine01c
As I understood it, Roadking was asking for the Rule reference that case play 9.2.2 describes. If a coach asks him again, he wanted to be able to state the Rule
(I thought). So, I was trying to point out how he could back up the legal dribbling using Rule 9-2. Even though case book plays are helpful and go into more detail, they are only tools. We should be able to prove anything that is either legal or illegal using the Rule Book. Sorry I was so dumb.

Roadking was asking for any rules reference that said that it was legal to dribble OOB. And this case book play explicitly answered his question. I'm just kinda confused why he would need to back up a very explicit case book play. Case book plays, by definition, <b>are</b> rules references.

roadking Tue Dec 21, 2004 11:16pm

thanks, you both answered my question. always learning!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1