The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable error administration (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17026-correctable-error-administration.html)

Dan_ref Wed Dec 15, 2004 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
I'm saying that you don't know anything that's false.


Ahhhh...that's the difference between your world and mine Horatio.

Quote:



You can believe something that's false and include that belief in a larger belief system that includes true beliefs.

Whoa there. You just passed the word down from on high that I can't know something that's false. Now you tell me I can believe something that's false and incorporate that into my system of knowledge (ie collection of things that I am able to know because the are true). Sounds to me you're paving the way for religion here. You're not being very consistent about it tho.

Anyways, we had a nice b'ball debate going but we got off point. Where were we...oh yeah...the players, officials, fans, table, security, janitors, media all ASSUMED the ball would be live on a miss because the man in charge said so.

So why doesn't the ball become live on the miss in this case again?

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 15, 2004 08:49pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:



Sounds to me you're paving the way for religion here.

The <b>Church of Chuck</b>?

Whoa.........

Put me down for the Kool-Aid franchise.

Dan_ref Wed Dec 15, 2004 08:53pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:



Sounds to me you're paving the way for religion here.

The <b>Church of Chuck</b>?

Whoa.........

Put me down for the Kool-Aid franchise.
Good idea, wrong beverage

http://www.beerchurch.com/squirrel%20beer.jpg

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 15, 2004 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
Good idea, wrong beverage

http://www.beerchurch.com/squirrel%20beer.jpg [/B][/QUOTE]Aw, say it ain't so, Chuck!

I'm shocked!
http://media.funny.co.uk/files/2819.jpg
Shocked, I tell ya!

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 15, 2004 09:38pm

Rule 11-1
 
This has been a very interesting thread. It seems obvious -- I don't know, but I believe -- that everybody understands that technically this falls under 2-10. But Chuck is working under rule 11-1: "Don't put sh1t in the game."

I like rule 11-1, it makes my life easier. Unless there is a significant "yabut" here -- a "yabut" in this context would be a reason that somebody would likely question what I'm about to do: like the 1.8 second scenario or enough time passing that the "window of opportunity" feels like it's closed, or some pedantic PITA assigner is watching, -- I'm not even going to worry about 2-10 or arguments about the ball not becoming alive.

I'm going blow the whistle, say loudly, "Sorry ladies, my bad. We've got one more shot," line them up and shoot the second shot. Don't give them time to think about it, they will all expect to shoot a second shot once they know it's double bonus. It's the law of least astonishment in action.

I realize that there is no rules-based backing for this action, but it's not about the rules. It's about what I can sell. Unless there's a "yabut" lurking, I can sell this easier than putting time back on the clock and a heckuvalot easier than using 2-10 and POI.

YMMV

Mark Dexter Wed Dec 15, 2004 10:55pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:



Sounds to me you're paving the way for religion here.

The <b>Church of Chuck</b>?

Whoa.........

Put me down for the Kool-Aid franchise.

I'll book the flights down to Central America.

rainmaker Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:25am

Re: Re: Re: Re: chuck take another look
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by cmathews
It wasn't dead if it was administered as a 1 and 1 was it?
Sure it was. If a player should be awarded 2 FTs, he doesn't lose the right to one of them simply b/c the official has a brain cramp. It's a 2 shot foul, regardless of what the official says.

Chuck --

I was with you until I went back over this thread and read this post. Actually, if the brain cramp happens just before the official announces the shots, the official "awards" the wrong number of shots. The fact that it was a 2 shot foul is what makes it a 2.10 error. The official only awarded the 1 and 1, even though he should have awarded 2. Use 2.10. End of story.

Okay, I've gone back over this thread three or four times, and it seems obvious to me that your error in logic, Chuck, is that you're putting the mistake that needs fixing at the wrong point in time. YOu're putting the error at the point of the rebound. But the error happened when the ref said, "1 and 1" and bounced the ball to the shooter. At that point, the error is made. 2.10 applies from then forward. Nothing else that happens changes that.

If the ref had ANNOUNCED, "2 shots!" when he bounced the ball to the shooter, and they'd rebounded and so on, everything you say would be true -- except I think you should emphasize more strongly that the ref should stop play before the rebounder turns to pass. But that's not what happend. The ref AWARDED 1 and 1 -- there's your 2.10 right there. End of story.

[Edited by rainmaker on Dec 16th, 2004 at 12:35 AM]

ChuckElias Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:32am

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: chuck take another look
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
it seems obvious to me that your error is that you're putting the mistake that needs fixing at the wrong point in time. YOu're putting the error at the point of the rebound. But the error happened when the ref said, "1 and 1" and bounced the ball to the shooter. At that point, the error is made. 2.10 applies from then forward.
I see your point, I'm just not sure I agree with it.

Quote:

If the ref had ANNOUNCED, "2 shots!" when he bounced the ball to the shooter, and they'd rebounded and so on, everything you say would be true
So you're saying that the real solution is my plan B: Lie and say that you said "2 shots". :)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
But the second sentence in the RULING is the key to both plays. And it starts out: "Since the all remained in play on the missed free throw, ..." The remaining portion of the sentence refers to other parts of the Casebook Play which are not germane to our play.
So if B1 forgets that I just said "2 shots", rebounds the miss and outlets to his point guard (and we've all seen this), we have a correctable error? Heck, the ball remained in play. We had a rebound, a pass and two dribbles. Bring it back, clear the lane, and go to the POI.

That's ridiculous, but that's what you're all suggesting we do in this case. The ball was NOT live, regardless of how the players reacted to it. Remember, the whistle that blew did not cause the ball to become dead. It was dead already.

And JR, if you say, "Yeah, but the clock started", I'm gonna scream. That's a timer's error and is irrelevant to whether the ball is live or not.


Chuck:

You may think that is riduculus, but that is just what the Casebook Play says must be done. The Casebook even states that the ball remains live. Sometimes, we just have to live with what is in the rules and case books.

MTD, Sr.

rainmaker Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:05pm

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: chuck take another look
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
If the ref had ANNOUNCED, "2 shots!" when he bounced the ball to the shooter, and they'd rebounded and so on, everything you say would be true
So you're saying that the real solution is my plan B: Lie and say that you said "2 shots". :) [/B][/QUOTE]

Well, that could work, I suppose...

Nevadaref Sat Dec 18, 2004 05:56am

I'm WAY late in chiming in on this scenario, but I'll add that this exact situation happened in a Georgetown Hoyas game last season. The NCAA D1 big dogs said that the ball never became live and line everyone back up for the second shot and played from there.
Not sure that I agree with it, but that is what they did.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1