The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A few Part II questions (this is your spoiler warning) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17017-few-part-ii-questions-your-spoiler-warning.html)

Rich Tue Dec 14, 2004 04:18pm

I'm not looking for answers, rather I'm looking for discussion.

I've gone through the latest, greatest Part II exam, and as usual there are about 3 questions that I simply can't figure out.

(Can't figure out what the test MAKER was trying to say that is.)

These are the three I've left blank:

#6 -- A restraining line may be used as a boundary line when space is limited, and may extend the entire length or width of the court.

(I think this is meant to be true, as it seems to kinda describe what's said in 1-2-2. But worded very weird.)

#55 - A1 may be out of bounds without penalty if A1, while dribbling, goes out of bounds to avoid B1 and then comes back inbounds to continue the dribble.

(This doesn't imply an interrupted dribble, does it? It seems to really make a difference. If not an interrupted dribble, which implies loss of control of the ball, it's false -- 9-3 NOTE)

#65 -- The difference between the penalty administration for an intentional foul and a technical foul is the designated spot where the ball will be thrown in.

Who knows what this means?

I've sent this on to two learned colleagues that frequent this board and, well, they differed in two of their responses. I haven't lost my mind after all. I think.

Please discuss, if you're so inclined. My test has already been stuck in the mail, so it ain't gonna help me at all.

--Rich

Dan_ref Tue Dec 14, 2004 04:28pm

I've got T, F and M (maybe).

If in 65 they mean ALL the differences between them the answer is F.

If they mean *A* difference between them then the answer is T.

I think they're going for the first one, so my vote is F.

Mark Dexter Tue Dec 14, 2004 04:33pm

I think what #65 is implying is that, if true, the number of free throws, who takes them, when they're taken, and how they're taken are all the same for both intentional personal and for technical fouls. Seeing that the number and who takes them could be different, I'd call this a false statement.

For 55, I don't think it's an interrupted dribble, either. The only question in my mind is whether they're looking for the OOB violation or they meant to write a situation where the player is given a technical foul for leaving the court to gain an advantage.

On 6, I'd be careful. First off, I would believe that the restraining line would HAVE to run the entire length or width of the court (as opposed to just being allowed to) but I've never seen a court with these before. Also, the restraining line is only the boundary line during the throw-in - I'm not sure if the NF is trying to trick everyone by saying that the restraining line is the boundary for going both IB and OOB.

DownTownTonyBrown Tue Dec 14, 2004 04:35pm

Amen!
 
I'm with you on #6... what is this full length of the court stuff? I answered True because the official can establish/impose a restraining line - I do it all the time on our podunk Idaho courts.

For # 55, I took to heart the words "while dribbling" and said False. The dribbler cannot step out of bounds.

For #65, I said True. A general technical foul is always thrown in at the division line. An intentional foul will be thrown in at the site of where the foul was committed (which could be the division line but not likely).

Now you've got several sets of answers... and my odds of getting them correct are still 50-50. :D

Rich Tue Dec 14, 2004 05:13pm

Re: Amen!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
I'm with you on #6... what is this full length of the court stuff? I answered True because the official can establish/impose a restraining line - I do it all the time on our podunk Idaho courts.

For # 55, I took to heart the words "while dribbling" and said False. The dribbler cannot step out of bounds.

For #65, I said True. A general technical foul is always thrown in at the division line. An intentional foul will be thrown in at the site of where the foul was committed (which could be the division line but not likely).

Now you've got several sets of answers... and my odds of getting them correct are still 50-50. :D

This hour and it's handful of responses just proves that these are three CRAPPY questions. I'm out to work a boys varsity game, but I'll look in once I get home.

BktBallRef Tue Dec 14, 2004 05:31pm

True
False
True

Mark Dexter Tue Dec 14, 2004 08:30pm

I'd say false for all three.

Without a definition of the term "penalty administration," I'd take that to mean more than just the inbound after the free throws. With an intentional foul, the fouled player (or his/her substitute) must shoot the FT's; on a technical, anyone can shoot. Also, an intentional could be worth 3 FT's, while a technical is always worth 2 (our insane time-ending block-off-the-bench-down-by-three discussions notwithstanding). These differences make me say that there are other differences, which makes the statement false.

Of course, it would be possible for a technical and an intentional to have the same succeeding inbounds spot - in that case, the stated difference does not occur, and the statement is again false.

rainmaker Tue Dec 14, 2004 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
True
False
True

I've taken (and passed with a 93) the Part II test, and Tony's nailed it. I got 65 wrong also, and was told that I was over thinking it. Which I think is a very stupid response. They know they can say that to me, because I always overthink everything. So it completely begs the question of why...

Dan_ref Tue Dec 14, 2004 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
True
False
True

I've taken (and passed with a 93) the Part II test, and Tony's nailed it. I got 65 wrong also, and was told that I was over thinking it. Which I think is a very stupid response. They know they can say that to me, because I always overthink everything. So it completely begs the question of why...

To those of us who use & understand the English language the answer is False.

The test question gives AN example from the list of possible differences. In fact the penalty differs depending on what the technical foul is.

It does not give THE (as in an exhaustive list) difference.

I agree with Rich, it's a crappy question that does nothing to test one's knowledge of the rules.

Oh well... :shrug:

rainmaker Tue Dec 14, 2004 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
True
False
True

I've taken (and passed with a 93) the Part II test, and Tony's nailed it. I got 65 wrong also, and was told that I was over thinking it. Which I think is a very stupid response. They know they can say that to me, because I always overthink everything. So it completely begs the question of why...

To those of us who use & understand the English language the answer is False.

The test question gives AN example from the list of possible differences. In fact the penalty differs depending on what the technical foul is.

It does not give THE (as in an exhaustive list) difference.

I agree with Rich, it's a crappy question that does nothing to test one's knowledge of the rules.

Oh well... :shrug:

I agree with you, Dan. That's why I got it wrong.

Oh, dear! That didn't come out right! Let's adjust the English a little here, too.

I agree with your reasoning, Dan. Unfortunately, when I used that reasoning, I got it wrong. It is not written to test knowledge of the rules, it's just plain a crappy question, just as you said. is that better?

[Edited by rainmaker on Dec 14th, 2004 at 09:21 PM]

Dan_ref Tue Dec 14, 2004 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker


I agree with you, Dan.

Yeah I know.

Just venting. :)

Rich Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
True
False
True

I've taken (and passed with a 93) the Part II test, and Tony's nailed it. I got 65 wrong also, and was told that I was over thinking it. Which I think is a very stupid response. They know they can say that to me, because I always overthink everything. So it completely begs the question of why...

To those of us who use & understand the English language the answer is False.

The test question gives AN example from the list of possible differences. In fact the penalty differs depending on what the technical foul is.

It does not give THE (as in an exhaustive list) difference.

I agree with Rich, it's a crappy question that does nothing to test one's knowledge of the rules.

Oh well... :shrug:

I agree with you, Dan. That's why I got it wrong.

Oh, dear! That didn't come out right! Let's adjust the English a little here, too.

I agree with your reasoning, Dan. Unfortunately, when I used that reasoning, I got it wrong. It is not written to test knowledge of the rules, it's just plain a crappy question, just as you said. is that better?

[Edited by rainmaker on Dec 14th, 2004 at 09:21 PM]

By saying that Tony's nailed it, I'm taking it that the answers are TRUE, FALSE, TRUE. Oh well, I can't be perfect all the time, but I know that I know how to administer an intentional foul and how to administer a technical foul, so in my mind the test is the one screwed up, not me.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 15, 2004 03:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
I'm with you on #6... what is this full length of the court stuff? I answered True because the official can establish/impose a restraining line - I do it all the time on our podunk Idaho courts.

For # 55, I took to heart the words "while dribbling" and said False. The dribbler cannot step out of bounds.

For #65, I said True. A general technical foul is always thrown in at the division line. An intentional foul will be thrown in at the site of where the foul was committed (which could be the division line but not likely).

Now you've got several sets of answers... and my odds of getting them correct are still 50-50. :D

In my opinion these are the correct answers for the test. A large part of successful test taking is having a sense of what the test writer intended the answer of the question to be. While I agree with all of those who have pointed out the problems with 65 (I actually think the other two are rather clear), it is obvious to me that the NFHS intended the question to be True.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 15, 2004 09:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
In my opinion these are the correct answers for the test. A large part of successful test taking is having a sense of what the test writer intended the answer of the question to be. While I agree with all of those who have pointed out the problems with 65 (I actually think the other two are rather clear), it is obvious to me that the NFHS intended the question to be True.
I thought the point of question #65 was to see if the official knew that "Intentional" and "Technical" are NOT different "types" of fouls. (We get several questions here about this: "A does such-and-such. Should I call an I or a T?")

You can have an IT foul. So, how could the administration be different? Had the question been "IP vs. T", then I'd agree that the answer was true.


flsh224 Wed Dec 15, 2004 02:21pm

I answered T-F-T but my partners and I have had discussions on all of the questions.

On the restraining line, one of my partners believes the restraining line is only for either the front court or the back court. I disagree with him.

As for the player avoiding a player and going out of bounds, it was my interpretation that an offensive player can not leave the boundary lines of the court.

I took the technical foul question and tried not to read to much into it.


Dan_ref Wed Dec 15, 2004 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins


I thought the point of question #65 was to see if the official knew that "Intentional" and "Technical" are NOT different "types" of fouls.

Which leaves me wondering why #65 isn't "Intentional and techinical fouls are not different "types" of fouls.

But what do I know? :shrug:

bob jenkins Wed Dec 15, 2004 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins


I thought the point of question #65 was to see if the official knew that "Intentional" and "Technical" are NOT different "types" of fouls.

Which leaves me wondering why #65 isn't "Intentional and techinical fouls are not different "types" of fouls.

But what do I know? :shrug:

Personal and Technical are the different "types".

Within those types, fouls can be common, intentional, flagrant, playercontrol, multiple, ... (and not all "catgories" apply to both "types").


Dan_ref Wed Dec 15, 2004 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins


I thought the point of question #65 was to see if the official knew that "Intentional" and "Technical" are NOT different "types" of fouls.

Which leaves me wondering why #65 isn't "Intentional and techinical fouls are not different "types" of fouls.

But what do I know? :shrug:

Personal and Technical are the different "types".

Within those types, fouls can be common, intentional, flagrant, playercontrol, multiple, ... (and not all "catgories" apply to both "types").


Of course Bob.

This makes the answer FALSE. Asumming we <s>know</s> can agree on what "type" means.

In any event there's many ways to make this question a lot more straight forward than it currently reads. IMO.

Jimgolf Wed Dec 15, 2004 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser

#65 -- The difference between the penalty administration for an intentional foul and a technical foul is the designated spot where the ball will be thrown in.
[/B]
This is refering to the administration of the penalty, not the penalty itself.

Dan_ref Wed Dec 15, 2004 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser

#65 -- The difference between the penalty administration for an intentional foul and a technical foul is the designated spot where the ball will be thrown in.
This is refering to the administration of the penalty, not the penalty itself. [/B]
Of course Jim, that's it!

Now...can you tell me where in the book it distinguishes between a foul's penalty and the administration of that penalty?

David B Thu Dec 16, 2004 01:37am

Round about way
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser

#65 -- The difference between the penalty administration for an intentional foul and a technical foul is the designated spot where the ball will be thrown in.
This is refering to the administration of the penalty, not the penalty itself.
Of course Jim, that's it!

Now...can you tell me where in the book it distinguishes between a foul's penalty and the administration of that penalty? [/B]
I think it does but in a round about way.

The penalty is listed in rule and in the summary of penalties, <b>two free throws plus ball for the throw in.</b>

the administration is listed in 7-5-8 and then in 7-5-11.

not clear, but does get the job done and gives the difference in the two.

Thanks
David

Nevadaref Thu Dec 16, 2004 03:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by flsh224

On the restraining line, one of my partners believes the restraining line is only for either the front court or the back court. I disagree with him.

Demonstrate your correctness to your partner by the following example:
1-2-2 "The restraining line becomes the boundary line on that side or end, as in 7-6. It continues to be the boundary until the ball crosses the line."
This means it is now the OOB line/plane for that entire side of the court or end of the court because,
9-2-3 "The thrower shall not...Pass the ball so it is touched by a teammate while the ball is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane (except as in 7-5-7)."
Now if the throw-in is from the sideline in the backcourt and you have less than 3 ft of space there, the thrower cannot pass the ball down the sideline well into the frontcourt where a teammate catches it while it is still on the OOB side of the restraining line. This would be a throw-in violation.

Quote:

Originally posted by flsh224

As for the player avoiding a player and going out of bounds, it was my interpretation that an offensive player can not leave the boundary lines of the court.

The NFHS was very careful to put "while dribbling" and "to continue the dribble" in this question. It is a violation according to the Note in 9-3. The T for 10-3-3 is not applicable to this question.

Quote:

Originally posted by flsh224
I took the technical foul question and tried not to read to much into it.

Exactly. In my opinion all the NFHS is trying to do is make the point that intentional PERSONAL fouls are inbounded at the spot nearest the occurrence of the foul, while the throw-in following a T is ALWAYS at the division line opposite the table. They are not concerned with which player(s) is(are) allowed to shoot, and the asumption must be made that intentional foul means intentional personal foul for this question.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Dec 16th, 2004 at 03:53 AM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1