![]() |
our JR coach came to me this morning with two unusual situations in his game last night. First one, Team A was fouled, it was the 10th foul so he was supposed to shoot two FT's. However, after the first FT, a member of Team B, got the rebound and shot and made a basket. Our coach began to yell at the officials, who were at this point inbounding the ball to his team, that the FT shooter was supposed to shoot two FT's. Once our coach got the attention of the officials, the ball had already been inbounded, and taken into the forecourt. The official then agreed that there should of been two FT's, but said he could not correct it. My question is--should the basket been nollified and the players returned to the FT line for the second FT?
Second situation, kid for Team B shoots at the WRONG goal, but as he is shooting, a member of Team A fouls him. The official called a shooting foul and had the player of Team B go to the other end and shoot two FT's. Correct?? Seems to me that it is a foul, but how can it be a shooting foul when the kid is shooting at the wrong goal. |
Quote:
2) It's a foul, but it's not a shooting foul. They got this one wrong. |
can you give specifics why it is not correctable, i understood a FT mistake was a correctable as long it is caught by the first dead ball?
|
Quote:
|
It can only be corrected before the first live ball after the the clock started. The clock started on the missed FT. The first dead ball occurred when team B scored after they rebounded the missed FT and then then shot. The ball became live again when it was at the disposal of team A for the subsequent throw-in. Too late. See case book play 2.10.1SitB.
|
i thought it would be correctable too...
especially since the coach was telling the officials it was a 2 shot foul. and correcting a free throw situation is a correctable error under the 5 correctable errors.
so, why can't your correct it? |
i guess in this situation there is no way for the coach to stop play. especially since it happened so quickly, there really is no way to correct this error in this situation. however, i would have thought since he was yelling at the officials, that it should have been corrected.
|
this leads me to a dumb question--every time a goal is scored the ball is dead. However, my confusion is the relationship between a running clock and a dead ball. The clock can be running but we can have a dead ball, correct? Must be because every basket that is made, we maintain a running clock unless we have a timeout, foul, etc.
|
Quote:
You can have a live ball with a stopped clock, a live ball with a running clock, a dead ball with a stopped clock and a dead ball with a running clock. The coach needed to get the official's attention (perhaps by visiting the scorer's table) before the ball became live after B's basket. |
thanks Bob, I hestitated to ask that question because it seemed so obvious, but maybe people equate all dead balls resulting in a stopped clock. Thanks
|
With the first situation, the ball is live once it's at the disposal of the inbounder. Your best bet is to tell your players (may be tough to do so) to get away from the ball - that way it doesn't become live.
As for the second situation, it can't be a "shooting" foul, but if B is in the bonus, the player will shoot 1+1 or the 2 bonus shots. No offense to your player, but if A1 is fouling on an attempt at his own goal, the B player deserves free throws. :p Now - to throw in a theoretical monkey wrench - team B rebounds, scores a basket, then grabs the ball for the throw-in and scores again (a la the "specific unsporting act" detailed in 10.1.8). We cancel the basket, charge B with a technical foul, and put time back on the clock, but can you say that the ball was never live and go back and correct the free throws? |
ok, i understand the first dead ball situation. lets say the official catch the error once team B makes the field goal. correct me if im wrong, count B field goal, go back to the line for A to shoot last FT. live ball if missed.
|
Re: i thought it would be correctable too...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Since there was a change of posession, resume from the POI |
Quote:
|
Quote:
R2-10-5--" Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error shall <b>not</b> be nullified". |
If the timer knew that there were 2 FT's, why did the clock start after the first one?
|
Do not know about clock, was not there. If I am officiating, then I know it is a two shot foul. However, lets say the situation is that the rebound from the first FT flys into the hands of his airbourne teammate, who quickly returns it for a basket. I cannot get air in my whistle before the "shot" comes out of the hands of the teammate. Even though the ball goes through the basket as I am blowing the whistle, I could not see myself awarding the basket. Since it is a two shot foul, the ball is still dead!! The ball could not become live unless the shooter misses his second shot. Since the ball is still dead, I can easily correct the error, if you want to call it that.
My original question was answered, but only because the ball became live when it was given to the inbounding player. Anything that happened prior to that could be corrected, because the two shot foul implies a dead ball until after the second shot. |
This raises an interesting question: was the ball ever live? In a 2-shot situation, the first shot is missed, rebounded by a player, and put in the basket. The opposing team grabs the ball and inbounds it. At what point was the ball live? What if the officials are still standing in position to administer the second free throw? Even if the officials move down the court, is the ball really live?
|
Quote:
The correctable error was not giving team A their second merited free throw. That can be corrected under Rule 2-10-1(a)- failure to award an unmerited free throw- but only if the error is caught in time, as per Rule 2-10-2. As per the rule that I quoted above- R2-10-4, anything else that happened after the free throw was missed can <b>NOT</b> be corrected. Quite simply, there is nothing in the rules that will allow you to wipe out B's basket, and R2-10-4 very specifically says that you can't wipe out B's basket! On a free throw, the ball becomes live when an official places it at the disposal of the free thrower. In this case, when the free throw missed, the ball <b>remained</b> live and the clock legally started when B rebounded the missed FT. The ball is now live up until the time that B made their field goal; then the ball became dead when it cleared the bottom of the net on that made goal. Now, you can only correct the <b>original</b> error of not awarding the second FT if you catch it before the ball next becomes live again--which is when an A player picks it up for their throw-in. Once the ball is at team A's disposal for that throw-in, the ball becomes live again and it is too late to go back and give A their missed second FT. But no matter what, you can't cancel anything else that happened between the original missed FT by A and the time that you do end up stopping the game to check- and that includes B's basket. If you read the case book play that I cited- 2.10.1SitB, it might clear that up for you. Note in that play, the field goal counts. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 14th, 2004 at 07:05 PM] |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Is this sitch presented correctly? How did B1 get the rebound and shoot; wasn't he at A's basket lined up for FT number 1? Are you saying that he shot at A's basket or that he dribbled all the way back to his basket and shot? |
Rule 6.7.2.a.
The ball becomes dead when it is apparent the free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw. Can't you argue that the ball was never live for A to rebound it and score? Even if Team B grabs the made shot and inbounds it, can't you sat that the ball was never live? Just because players inbound a ball and dribble up the court, the ball is still dead right? First dead ball, correct the error. |
no, I miss stated the original situation. It was the same team member that rebounded as had shot the FT.
Thanks for your explanation, I will have to absorb it abit to fully appreciate it. |
Quote:
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 15th, 2004 at 01:07 PM] |
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[B] Quote:
|
[QUOTE]Originally posted by lrpalmer3
[B] Quote:
Are you trying to tell me that you would completely ignore R2-10-5 by using that logic, and thus cancel B's basket? Good luck to you! Btw, have you read casebook play 2:10:1SitB yet? Maybe you should write the FED too and tell them that they got that one wrong also when they allowed the basket. What's your comment on that case book play? It completely contradicts your whole argument to date. |
ok, I need help on this one. Lets back up and I will walk through this and see if I understand. Kid gets fouled, ball is dead on foul call. Ball becomes live when given to FT shooter (this is why you have a 10 secound count). Ball remains live until a basket is made. If FT is successful, ball is dead until it is returned to FT shooter, when it becomes live again. If FT shooter misses shot, ball remains live.
How about this situation, a foul is called on Team B. Before you realize, you inbound ball to Team A, then the scorers table buzzes, as Team A advances ball upcourt, telling you that the foul was the 7th team foul on Team B. Even though a stoppage of play occurs, you cannot award FT's to team A since you have already inbounded ball. So, you inbound ball to Team A at the nearest point the ball was located when stoppage occurred. Correct?? |
Quote:
Like I said JR, thanks. |
I don't think so....
Quote:
|
ok, brain is spinning now!!
|
Uh, just one more thing here.
Why were the officials inbounding the ball after the supposed made basket? They should have either let it go or asked for it so it could be given back to the free thrower for shot #2.
Hartsy |
good point. I have later found out that the official had seen 9 on the scoreboard and did not realize that it was the 10th foul. He had informed the players that they were in 1-1. Now, the opposing coach told me that on a previous TO that he had told his boys that they had 9 fouls and that on the next foul the opposition would be shooting 2. This is why his boys did not react. You got to love it!!!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19pm. |