The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 13, 2004, 12:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Re: Team control

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveM
I'm just thinking out loud here...

What happens in this scenario to A's team control if B1, in A's frontcourt, taps the ball back into A's backcourt and A1 retrieves the ball?

If B hasn't established player control, he batted the ball, and B hasn't established Team control, no prior player control, then A didn't loose Team control and the ball gained front court status. By the def's given above why would A not be penalized for a backcourt violation?
Steve,
Per rule 9-9-1, team A must be the last to touch it in the fc, and the first to touch it after going to the bc, for it to be a violation. In your sitch, B is the last to touch it before going into the backcourt, thus giving A the opportunity to recover in the backcourt.

Adam
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1