Quote:
Originally posted by LarryS
Am I goofy or did they kick this.
HS Freshmen Boys (contract officials not asssociated with any chapter). A1 is to shoot 2 free throws, enters the circle while staring at the rim...never notices that his foot is on the FT line. Lead bounces him the ball...TWEET...Trail calls him for a violation as soon as he catches the ball.
A1 still had not looked at his feet. I thought it wouldn't be a violation until he actually attempted the shot. Am I missing something?
|
By rule, the ref is right. Between the time the ball is at the shooter's disposal and the shot either hits the basket or goes through the basket, it's a violation for anyone to be in the lane. In this case, as soon as he caught the ball, it's a violation.
Lead should have caught it first, though, and prevented it.