The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2001, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 20
This was originally my question which I posed to Just Curious who posted it. So I will clarify the situation.

A1 is making a spot throw-in from one end of the end-line. A3 is inbounds at the other end of the end-line. A1's throw is nearly parallel to the end-line and outside the end-line most of the time on it's way towards A3.

Can B2, standing inbounds (between A1 and A3) reach over the end-line and intercept the ball, which is still outside the endline, after A1 releases it?

If so, why should it be legal for B2 to intecept the out-of-bounds ball but no one on A's team (see rule 9-2.3)?

Along these same lines, another question is this: what does rule 9-2-2 mean when it says the thrower must pass the ball "directly into the court"? Has the thrower fulfulled his obligation if the ball is intercepted out-of-bounds?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1