The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2001, 01:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Thanks BktBallRef, On the court i don't think i've been faced with having to make a decision for a T. Once the player releases the ball and a defender hits it it usually goes right back OOB or in play. Hard to tell if the player touched the ball on the OOB side. The only time i've called a T is when it is still in the hands of the thrower.
Don't confuse what I said. If the pass is a throw-in, B1 can reach through the plane and touch the ball after the release on the OOB side. This is a legal play. Then make your call if the ball goes OOB. Inbounds and it's a free ball.

However, in the original play, the pass from A1 to A2 occurred when both players were OOB after a made basket. The pass from A1 to A2 in this sitch is not a throw-in pass. It's no different than touching or dislodging the ball while A1 is holding it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1