The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
I had a traveling call last night. The travel happened on the left side of the free throw lane, about 3/4's way up from the end-line toward the free throw line. After I called traveling, there was a time out called. Before my partner reported the time out, he pointed to the end-line as the throw-in spot. After he reported it, I pointed to a place on the side-line where I would inbound it. He shook his head in agreement and we went on. (By the way, no coach ever asked where we were going to inbound the ball. Had they asked, I would have gone with his initial spot.) During our post game, he commented on my choice of inbound spots, saying he liked it. Since we were going from back court to front court, I saw no reason to go to the end-line to inbounds the ball. I have seen more experienced officials do the same thing I did. What do you say?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 276
Without my books in front of me, I can't say for sure, but I believe that either the rule book or the case book or the officials manual contains a diagram showing the shading of the areas where you go to the endline.

What the diagram will show, if I remember correctly (!), is that you draw a diagonal line from each end of the free throw line to the corners (sideline/endline). All fouls/violations that take place in the lane, in the areas below the imaginary diagonal lines *and* in the semi-circle *above* the free throw line will result in an inbound on the endline.

I'm not sure if I explained that so that it is understandable, but I hope it helps!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by BamaRef
Since we were going from back court to front court, I saw no reason to go to the end-line to inbounds the ball. I have seen more experienced officials do the same thing I did. What do you say?
The main reason to go to the end-line to inbounds the ball is that we're supposed to according to the rule. And really, why not?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 03:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
The only time I ever purposefully deviate from the rule on this is when there are home-court issues (such as overhanging baskets or a bench that is too close to the court on one side) that put the inbounder at a disadvantage. This should have been an endline throwin, and the defensive team may have wanted to run a press.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Can we petition the Federation to simplify it: If it's inside the arc--> baseline. Outside the arc---> sideline. It wouldn't be a dramatic change, but it would be easier than visualizing diagonals from the end of the free throw line to the corner.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Thanks, I'll to the end-line from now on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1