The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
Exclamation

Just some clarification...

Team A has the ball in their frontcourt when B1 knocks the ball out of bounds on A's baseline. On the ensuing throw-in, the throw-in pass sails into backcourt without being touched by Team B, where A2 then recovers the ball in the backcourt. This is a backcourt violation as Team A had already established frontcourt status on the previous live ball, correct??

What if there had been a shot by Team A, and A3 mistakenly throws the ball into the backcourt...still a violation, right?

Backcourt violations are my least favorite calls...

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally posted by champ
...This is a backcourt violation as Team A had already established frontcourt status on the previous live ball, correct??
Congratulations! Tell him what he has won....

....A complete set of Rules, Case Plays, and Official's Manual. You can claim your prize at http://www.whatwereyouthinking.com

.
.
.kidding, just kidding



[Edited by Robmoz on Dec 7th, 2004 at 03:56 PM]
__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done."
Chris Z.
Detroit/SE Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
No, it's not a violation. What happened prior to the ball going OOB is of no consequence. Team control ended and is not re-established until Team A possesses the ball inbounds. So there is no team control when the ball goes into A's BC.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Over and back.

New official here. Go easy on me when i am mistaken. I believe during the throw in no team or player control exists. So no backcourt in that particular sitch..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Re: Over and back.

Quote:
Originally posted by wolfen
New official here. Go easy on me when i am mistaken. I believe during the throw in no team or player control exists. So no backcourt in that particular sitch..
You are correct. Team control ends in one of three ways:

* A try
* Ball becomes dead (oob, violation, etc.)
* Other team secures control

Team control is established when a player of that team establishes control (holding or dribbling a live ball, as I recall).

__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 04:11pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Re: Over and back.

Quote:
Originally posted by wolfen
New official here. Go easy on me when i am mistaken. I believe during the throw in no team or player control exists. So no backcourt in that particular sitch..
I believe there is a case play which we talked about in another thread. Can't remember it. But the point is, is that it's an OOB play. No violation.

Play 2: If there is a shot by Team A and team A gets the rebound and throws it in their backcourt it's not a violation just for throwing it in the backcourt. It's a violation if they throw it in their backcourt and Team A touches the ball first.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
And by the way, champ, and Wolfen, welcome to the board. We are a raucous lot, sometimes, but you'll quickly become part of the crowd if you always laugh at the Davisms, never argue with Jurassic Referee (unless you're bob jenkins or BktBallRef), make wise cracks about certain baseball teams (you choose which subculture you want to be part of), and don't tell dirty, racial, blond jokes. Otherwise, it's pretty much anything goes.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
and don't tell dirty, racial, blond jokes.
What about other kinds of blond jokes?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 09:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
and don't tell dirty, racial, blond jokes.
What about other kinds of blond jokes?
Short blond jokes are ok.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
is that jokes about short blondes or brief jokes about blondes
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 09:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I'm not sure we should get into jokes about their underwear.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 10:36pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,653
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
No, it's not a violation. What happened prior to the ball going OOB is of no consequence. Team control ended and is not re-established until Team A possesses the ball inbounds. So there is no team control when the ball goes into A's BC.

BBR:

But we should let everybody know that under FIBA and NBA/WNBA rules it is a backcourt violation.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1