The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2004, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
ART. 5 . . . A player holding the ball:

a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot.

I was talking about this part when he/she lays back and the "any other part of the body" touches the floor. Maybe I am looking to far into it. I have seen this called every time it has happened. I am not trying to cause a debat or arguement, just want to get it right.
This refers to standing. If the player is sitting holding the ball, she's already got a part of the body other than the hand or foot touching. If she obtains control while sitting, and then lays back, it's not a travel, because the rule you cite above refers to a standing player.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1