The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2004, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
This is what happened in a V-Boys scrimmage yesterday.

After a made basket, Blue inbounds and is advancing the ball from backcourt toward frontcourt under defensive pressure. Blue 1 passes to Blue 2 who dribbles toward the division line, is trapped by two red players, and picks up the ball with one foot in frontcourt and the other in the air. He then passes back to Blue 3 who is airborn from backcourt to front court. I call a backcourt violation, the justification being Blue 2 established himself front court when he picked up the ball with one foot frontcourt and the other in the air.

Both partners disagreed with my call saying Blue 2 had not established himself in front court because he needed to have both feet frontcourt first.

I told them I agreed if he was dribbling, but not if he was holding the ball.

Anyone got an older casebook play that addresses this specific situation?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1