![]() |
I'd like some feedback on how to handle an excess timeout situation ... Team A called their final timeout with about a minute left in the game (HSV). I knew it was the final TO, but could not get the head coach's attention, so I let the assistant know it was their final one.
Close ballgame ... Team A scores to cut Team B's lead to 3 points with about 30 seconds left. I am old L on Team A's bench side. Before Team B gets the ball for the inbound play, Team A's head coach (and the rest of the bench) is hollering for a timeout. I try to tell the coach that they do not have one left ... in the meantime, my partner grants the timeout request from new L. We met briefly and his logic was we would get in more trouble by "ignoring" their request. So we allow the timeout, charge the technical, Team B makes the two free throws and goes up by 5 then gets the ball back, game-set-match. Team A (visitors) coach jumps in the face of their own scorekeeper for not letting him know they were out of TO's. We did not have much time to discuss it because we only had the short interval between the made basket and Team B inbounding the ball, so I could not "make sure" Team A wanted the excess TO. In that situation, I doubt they would have wanted one. My question is how far do you go trying to not hear a coach/player calling an excessive timeout? |
You did what you could. You let the bench know. I am glad he jumped his book and not you.
|
Quote:
As long as my partners and I know how many TO's are remaining, so that we know what to expect from the benches, then I'm good. If a TO is requested, I'll grant it immediately. Worrying about excessive YO's is someone else's job. I think you went beyond your allowable duties and almost created a disadvantage for Team B, which I know was not your intention. mick |
Give it to 'em!
Coach wants his TO, then give it to him. Then, assess the T that goes with it. It may be okay to "not quite hear" the request the fist time, but if he continues, give it to him. It's not your fault that the assistant (or his book) didn't bother to help the head coach!
You could have said something like, "Coach, team B already had the ball at their disposal to throw it in. Therefore, I couldn't grant you the TO, and besides, you don't have any left." Then listen to him THANK YOU profusely for missing the call!! ;) |
Let him have it....
My take on this is each team "has" 3 full and 2 30 second time outs, but they can "take" as many as they want after that for the penalty. I beleive that we do them a courtesy of letting them know how many they have left. After that it's up to them.
|
First: NFHS R2-S11-A6/NCAA R2-S11-A6 states that the Timer through an official shall notify the team and its head coach that it is has taken its last allowable time-out.
Second: NFHS R5-S12-A2/NCAA R5-S12-A1 states that a team may request time-outs in excess of it allotted number and the request shall be granted. The penalty is an technical foul charged to the team. (Under NCAA rules it is considered an indirect technical foul even though it is charged to the team and not an indiviual.) You said that the head coach was not cooperative when you tried to inform him that he had used up all of his allotted time-outs. You let his assistant know, so don't lose any sleep over that part. But you cannot tell a team that they cannot have an excess time-out. If they want the time-out they are entitled to it but there is a penalty to be paid. Just ask Chris Weber. |
Quote:
|
Technicals to Bonus?
In response to this post, does the technical foul for calling excessive TO's go toward the bonus?
Also, does any Technical fouls called on the Coach go toward the Bonus? |
Quote:
|
Re: Technicals to Bonus?
Quote:
|
I had a clinician at a camp tell me once that we, as officials, "are not in the time out business." That means that we grant them as requested and that is all. We may check the book for our own knowledge, but we never tell a coach how many they have left. If we get wrong information and then pass that wrong information along, we are the bad guys.
If a coach ever asks me about TO's, I <u>always refer him to the home scorekeeper.</u> If the scorekeeper does his job, the coach will have all the info he needs. If they request a TO they do not have, I just give it to them. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Of course, you would only be wrong based on information given to you by the scorer. :) |
It sounds to me that the rule cited by Mark D. was not followed. He notified the assistant, and the rules specify team and head coach - not the bench or an assistant. I can't believe that, before putting ball at disposal after last TO the ref had no opportunity to notify the head coach.
I don't have my book at hand, but this begs a few questions. What is the call if no official notice is given? Does the technical foul rule for excessive timeouts supercede the rule that notification be given? Should they get a freebie since the initial rule on the last TO was not followed? Think about the rule on notification prior to end of halftime. If no notification is given, what is the call when the team does not show up on time? This seems to parallel that situation. I can see this being no T because of failure to give proper notice to the coach, with heartfelt apologies to the opponents. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
[Edited by BktBallRef on Feb 6th, 2001 at 09:13 PM] |
In Ncaa Men's is it 1 shot plus the ball or just the 1 shot for the extra timeout??
|
Quote:
If they had no TO's, but the scorer said one, I would waive the T (because of incorrect information). No notification - just doesn't seem right to me. |
Quote:
Granted we are not in the TO business but by rule we do have one mandatory obligation. Furthermore, end-game management has been a point of emphasis (especially NCAA Women's) for the last couple of years. |
Pistol
In NCAA men's the rule is 1 shot and the ball back in play at the point of interuption. So not one and the ball. |
Quote:
The "failure to notify" does not supercede the penalty. Charge the T. |
Notification is in the rules for a reason. To say there is no penalty for failure to notify is ludicrous - how do we penalize improper game management? Can't be done.
I also do not believe that I am playing with semantics - the rule book specifically says head coach and I believe it means head coach. As refs, you frequently state that you won't give the time of day to an assistant, so I think it is a two way street here. You deal with the head coach and hold him responsible. And none of you have addressed my full original question. In a previous thread, the majority of posters agreed that failure to give notice to a team 3 minutes prior to the end of halftime meant that you should not give the T when the team fails to show up on time, and some suggested they should be given some warm-up time if they came out as soon as notified (http://www.officialforum.com/thread/1398). (In the interest of full disclosure, if you go there, you will notice that I didn't know this rule for halftime - we don't get this in MS ball so I never paid any attention) Why treat notification regarding TOs differently? A coach can keep track of time and time outs, but notification is still mandatory in both cases. Or from another part of the rules, if you violate the boundary plane twice but were not properly warned the first time, is the second a violation? |
Thanx Dewey1, we just reverted to these rules recently after 25 years of FIBA. Also I beleive they only get a mini TO and the time on the shot clock is not reset from the time of interruption. I'm sure all this stuff is in the case book but we still haven't received ours and the seasons almost over!!!
|
Pistol
The shot clock is not reset only if the team that called the excess time-out is going to be given the ball back after the T is shot. But if Team A had the ball and there pass was knocked OB by Team B and during the dead ball period Team B called an excessive time-out then the clock would be reset when Team A gets the ball back after the T was shot. I am not sure about the only getting a mini TO though. It would seem to me that they are already getting a T, and I would give them the full time-out (though I might be wrong about this) |
Quote:
2) The "notify at half-time" is listes as a requirement of the referee 2-4-4. The "notify of last TO" is a scorers requirement 2-11. Thus, the difference in what we'd do. Now, if the scorer tells the official and the official doesn't notify the team, you might have an argument. 3) A thorw-in boundary violation (not touching the ball or a player) is only a T after a warning. That's clear in 10-1-10. |
[/B][/QUOTE]
1) My copy of the rules book just says "notify a team and its coach ..." -- not "head coach". 2-11-6 2) The "notify at half-time" is listes as a requirement of the referee 2-4-4. The "notify of last TO" is a scorers requirement 2-11. Thus, the difference in what we'd do. Now, if the scorer tells the official and the official doesn't notify the team, you might have an argument. 3) A thorw-in boundary violation (not touching the ball or a player) is only a T after a warning. That's clear in 10-1-10. [/B][/QUOTE] Bob: I goofed up when I wrote my post. The NFHS says: "notify a team and its COACH"; the NCAA says: "notify a team and its HEAD COACH". I guess should be charged with an administrative technical foul for not clarifying my rule book quotes. I do not want to second guess the Rules Committees but I think that both groups would agree that COACH and HEAD COACH refer to the same person on the bench. The real discussion should be does notifying an assistant coach quailfy with getting the information the the head coach. But that is another discussion. |
At the end of a tight game I would think the head coach would rather have you tell an asst. rather than intterupt him or her giving the team final instructions. 60 seconds is not very long, and I think it irks them more when you break their mojo to tell them they are out of TO's.
At least this is what I have observed over time. |
Quote:
|
Thanks Mick - my point exactly.
|
To play devils advocate...
If we linger by the bench to advise the head coach we run the risk of 1) delaying the game because we are out of position 2) being near the bench in tense situations. I think we leave our selves open to problems hanging around the bench area. That is why the mechanic is to go to the circle/blocks during time outs. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11am. |