The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 12:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 164
Angry

Hi Everyone!

I took last year off officiating (except for some private school tournaments) due to work schedule. I picked up all my new rule books for this season and I'm SHOCKED at how much I've forgotten!! Yikes.

Okay, 4-3-2 says:

Alternating possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponents basket when...

...The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a common foul when the bonus rule is in effect.

Is it just the wording here or is it me? (Wait...don't answer that.)

If the bonus rule is in effect, WHY would this be talking about the "initial direction of the possession arrow" ?? Doesn't initial mean that it hasn't been set to ANY team yet??

Secondly, this description seems to be talking about a time when free throw administration would precede the changing of the possession arrow. I need someone to explain this to me. This seems to suggest that after a foul where there are free throws to be shot, the arrow is reversed after the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower. The only time I ever knew that the arrow came into play in a foul situation was when simultaneous personal or technical fouls occurred.

Somebody help me shake the rust off here!

Paul


__________________
Paul LeBoutillier
Ontario, Oregon
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 12:54am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Check out casebook 4.3.2. The only time the scenario you describe comes into play is when there is a foul during the jump ball at the start of an extra period. This is one of those cajillion situations that we are expected to handle flawlessly even though it is a once in a lifetime (or maybe less) thing.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 164
I appreciate the response. Thanks!!
__________________
Paul LeBoutillier
Ontario, Oregon
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by just another ref
The only time the scenario you describe comes into play is when there is a foul during the jump ball at the start of an extra period.
Here's a very nit-picky point, which I'm sure JAR already knows, but just to be precise. . .

The foul could occur after the jump ball has ended (ball touched the floor, official, or non-jumper), but before control has been established by either team.

It doesn't have to be literally during the jump ball. Very small point, sorry.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1