The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,042
Does the 10 second count start when the ball is touched by a player after a throw-in or with player control after a throw-in? Does the fact that in NCAA rules team control exists during the throw-in affect this rule at all as compared to Fed?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
In FED 10 second count starts when there is team control int he backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
In NCAA, team control exists during the throw-in, but the 10 second count doesn't begin until the throw-in is controlled inbounds.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
as an aside, in games that involve a shot clock, the shot clock begins when the ball touches any player inbounds
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
as an aside, in games that involve a shot clock, the shot clock begins when the ball touches any player inbounds
Which is why you can't always use the shot clock to determine your 10-second violation. The shot clock starts on the touch, but the ball could be batted for several seconds before it's controlled. So your 10-second count might not even start until the shot clock was down to 27.

(NBA's a different story, of course. Since there's team control during the throw-in, the 8-second count starts as soon as the ball is touched inbounds.)
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1