The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 16, 2004, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Re: No jump ball?

Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
Just got an answer on the ruling from my supervisor:
There would be no jump ball! "The double fouls would offset. (no shots) Resume technical fouls procedures with the shooters team getting the ball @ the division line. The arrow would also be set during the throw in to the inbounding team."

I won't be able to argue his answer unless I get a casebook or official ruling from the rulebook. BktBallRef, can you help on this?
Unfortunately, your supervisor is incorrect. The relevant rules that you need to show him are 4-3-3b, 8-7, Summary of Penalties for All Fouls, 1(c) on pg. 67, and 6-4-3f NOTE.

4-3-3b details how to set the arrow initially. It states that you wait until the ball is at the disposal of the player who will make the throw-in to set the arrow after a noncommon foul (technical, intentional).
8-7 states, "Penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred."
This means that you need to assess the penalty for the double personal foul after you finish shooting the FTs for the technical foul. You cannot splice the penalty for the double personal foul inbetween the two parts of the penalty for the technical foul (the 2FTs and the awarding of possession). The penalty for the double personal foul supercedes the awarding of possession from the T. The game is now continued by assessing the appropriate penalty for the double personal foul.
1(c) from the Summary of Penalties tells you what that appropriate penalty is. No free throws are awarded for the double personal foul and an AP throw-in results, but 6-4-3f NOTE explains the a jump ball must take place "between the two players involved" if the alternating-possession procedure has not been established when the double personal foul occurred.

To sum up, the initial arrow is not set yet at the time of the double personal because the first foul was a noncommon foul and the rules say to wait to set it until the ball is at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in which would have followed the 2 FTs. Since there was a double personal foul before the AP procedure had been established, there needs to be a jump ball in the center restraining circle between the two players involved in the double personal foul.
It takes a little reading and piecing together, but it is all there in black and white for your supervisor, if he willing to read it and listen to you. Good luck.
PS Where are you located?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1