The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   officials error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16424-officials-error.html)

mdray Sat Nov 13, 2004 06:54pm

From last year's refresher test: (I still don't get this one!)
A1 is awarded one free throw but the official erroneously tells the players that A1 will shoot two free throws. A1's first attempt is missed. A2 grabs the rebound and scores as the other players make no attempt to rebound the ball. After conferring, the officials count the basket. Were the officials correct? Answer key says NO. So what's the correct next step? Cancel the score and use the arrow?

RookieDude Sat Nov 13, 2004 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mdray
From last year's refresher test: (I still don't get this one!)
A1 is awarded one free throw but the official erroneously tells the players that A1 will shoot two free throws. A1's first attempt is missed. A2 grabs the rebound and scores as the other players make no attempt to rebound the ball. After conferring, the officials count the basket. Were the officials correct? Answer key says NO. So what's the correct next step? Cancel the score and use the arrow?


I beleive we discussed this last year.
Since none of the defenders attempted to rebound, per the officials instructions, the defenders were put at a disadvantage.
Cancel the bucket and go to the arrow.

BktBallRef Sat Nov 13, 2004 11:57pm

Correct.

betweenthelines Sun Nov 14, 2004 12:19am

NCAA Rule 2-10 Art 3
When the error is a free throw by the wrong player, a free throw attempted at the wrong basket or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than a flagrant technical foul, a flagrant personal foul, (men) an intentional technical foul, n intentional personal soul or an indirect or direct technical foul, shall be canceled.
a. Points scored, time consumed and additional activity, which may occur before the recogniton of the error, shall not be nullified.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 14, 2004 12:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by betweenthelines
NCAA Rule 2-10 Art 3
When the error is a free throw by the wrong player, a free throw attempted at the wrong basket or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than a flagrant technical foul, a flagrant personal foul, (men) an intentional technical foul, n intentional personal soul or an indirect or direct technical foul, shall be canceled.
a. Points scored, time consumed and additional activity, which may occur before the recogniton of the error, shall not be nullified.

Unfortunately, the error in this situation ISN'T a free throw by the wrong player, a free throw attempted at the wrong basket or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, so the NCAA rule that you cited is neither germane or applicable. Neither are any of the correctable error situations outlined in NFHS 2-10-1 either. This isn't a correctable error situation; it's an official's error situation.

betweenthelines Sun Nov 14, 2004 12:38am

"A1 is awarded one free throw but the official erroneously tells the players that A1 will shoot two free throws."

That clause in the sceniro makes it a correctible error. I think you need to brush up on 2-10. Read both 2-10in the NCAA and NFHS rule book. It is spelt out very simple in the NCAA book. The official awarded an "unmerited free throw" by telling them two throws.it applies here

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 14, 2004 01:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by betweenthelines
"A1 is awarded one free throw but the official erroneously tells the players that A1 will shoot two free throws."

That clause in the sceniro makes it a correctible error. I think you need to brush up on 2-10. Read both 2-10in the NCAA and NFHS rule book. It is spelt out very simple in the NCAA book. The official awarded an "unmerited free throw" by telling them two throws.it applies here

I think that you need to brush up on your understanding of rule book terminology. There sureashell WASN"T an unmerited FT taken. The FT that was taken was the FIRST FT. Whether its 1/1 or 2 shots, you're ALWAYS gonna legally get that first FT- so there's NO way that it can be called unmerited.

rainmaker Sun Nov 14, 2004 01:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by betweenthelines
"A1 is awarded one free throw but the official erroneously tells the players that A1 will shoot two free throws."

That clause in the sceniro makes it a correctible error. I think you need to brush up on 2-10. Read both 2-10in the NCAA and NFHS rule book. It is spelt out very simple in the NCAA book. The official awarded an "unmerited free throw" by telling them two throws.it applies here

I think that you need to brush up on your understanding of rule book terminology. There sureashell WASN"T an unmerited FT taken. The FT that was taken was the FIRST FT. Whether its 1/1 or 2 shots, you're ALWAYS gonna legally get that first FT- so there's NO way that it can be called unmerited.

It sounds like b.t.l. thinks that by saying "two shots" the official is awarding two shots, so it appears that the second one has already been awarded. I admit, this is a beguiling interpretation, because it makes 2.10 applicable, but I'm with you, Woody, that I don't think it works out. There's no way to interpret 2.10 to come up with a reasonable procedure for correcting. Besides, BktBallRef already said that a different procedure was correct.

Camron Rust Sun Nov 14, 2004 02:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by betweenthelines
"A1 is awarded one free throw but the official erroneously tells the players that A1 will shoot two free throws."

That clause in the sceniro makes it a correctible error. I think you need to brush up on 2-10. Read both 2-10in the NCAA and NFHS rule book. It is spelt out very simple in the NCAA book. The official awarded an "unmerited free throw" by telling them two throws.it applies here

Awarded means that the FT was actually taken. You can't correct a FT that wasn't attempted.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 14, 2004 02:14am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
[/B]
Besides, BktBallRef already said that a different procedure was correct. [/B][/QUOTE]Tony was referring to case book play 8.6.1(b), which is almost identical. The only difference is that A2 scores in the play above before the official blew it dead. The discussion that we had, if I remember right, was whether we actually could cancel the basket in that particular case.

rainmaker Sun Nov 14, 2004 02:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Besides, BktBallRef already said that a different procedure was correct. [/B]
Tony was referring to case book play 8.6.1(b), which is almost identical. The only difference is that A2 scores in the play above before the official blew it dead. The discussion that we had, if I remember right, was whether we actually could cancel the basket in that particular case. [/B][/QUOTE]

And Tony thinks we decided we could. DO you disagree?

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 14, 2004 02:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Besides, BktBallRef already said that a different procedure was correct.
Tony was referring to case book play 8.6.1(b), which is almost identical. The only difference is that A2 scores in the play above before the official blew it dead. The discussion that we had, if I remember right, was whether we actually could cancel the basket in that particular case. [/B]
And Tony thinks we decided we could. DO you disagree? [/B][/QUOTE]I think that the consensus at that time was that that was the fair thing to do, and that was the purpose and intent of the case book play anyway. I could be remembering wrong though.

cmathews Sun Nov 14, 2004 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by betweenthelines
"A1 is awarded one free throw but the official erroneously tells the players that A1 will shoot two free throws."

That clause in the sceniro makes it a correctible error. I think you need to brush up on 2-10. Read both 2-10in the NCAA and NFHS rule book. It is spelt out very simple in the NCAA book. The official awarded an "unmerited free throw" by telling them two throws.it applies here

BTL, take this for what it is worth, comments like this aren't the best way to discuss things on this board...especially when they are directed at a guy with over 4900 posts, most of which are usually right on the money...everyone on this board is happy to discuss things, and there are always disagreements, but caustic remarks like this certainly give you an uphill battle to having any meaningful discussions...

BktBallRef Sun Nov 14, 2004 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Besides, BktBallRef already said that a different procedure was correct. [/B]
Tony was referring to case book play 8.6.1(b), which is almost identical. The only difference is that A2 scores in the play above before the official blew it dead. The discussion that we had, if I remember right, was whether we actually could cancel the basket in that particular case. [/B][/QUOTE]

I did? I was? LOL! I thought all I did was to agree with Rookiedude (first time for everything) that he was correct.

BTW, WTF is this BTL dude? Hey BTL dude, awarding a FT erroneously means that the player shot the FT and shouldn't have. Awarding a FT does not mean you told him to shoot 2 and he didn't.

Get your head out of your butt and you can learn something here.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 14, 2004 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Besides, BktBallRef already said that a different procedure was correct.
Tony was referring to case book play 8.6.1(b), which is almost identical. The only difference is that A2 scores in the play above before the official blew it dead. The discussion that we had, if I remember right, was whether we actually could cancel the basket in that particular case. [/B]
I did? I was? LOL! I thought all I did was to agree with Rookiedude (first time for everything) that he was correct.

[/B][/QUOTE]It's true what they say about "assuming". I shoulda known better.

Then what rules citation would you use to agree with RD? I can't think of another one offhand. It ain't a correctable error, so I'm not sure how you can justify cancelling the made basket.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Nov 14th, 2004 at 02:45 PM]

BktBallRef Sun Nov 14, 2004 09:41pm

Yes, that would be the correct case play. It was intially posted on the NFHS website as an interpretation prior to appearing in the case book for the first time. Since the officials error placed Team B at a disadvantage, the ball is dead immediately and the basket is cancelled. No, it isn't a correctable error but the case book states that the play should be blown dead immediately. We aren't going to further penalize Team B because we didn't blow the whistle quickly enough.

Robmoz Mon Nov 15, 2004 04:48pm

adding anudder error situation.......

After a violation, not subsequent to a made basket, Team B gets the ball on the endline. Team A calls their LAST timeout to setup a full court press. On the ensuing inbound the Lead official incorrectly informs B1 that he can run the endline for the throw-in. B1 runs the endline towards the far sideline (right in front of Team A bench) and executes a throw-in that results in a made basket on the other end by B2. Coach A approaches the scorer's table and requests a time out to address the error in allowing B1 to run the baseline.

Q1. Is this an error that is correctable?

Q2. If not, does Team A get charged a timeout for the stoppage and is it a technical since no TO's left?


rainmaker Mon Nov 15, 2004 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Robmoz
adding anudder error situation.......

After a violation, not subsequent to a made basket, Team B gets the ball on the endline. Team A calls their LAST timeout to setup a full court press. On the ensuing inbound the Lead official incorrectly informs B1 that he can run the endline for the throw-in. B1 runs the endline towards the far sideline (right in front of Team A bench) and executes a throw-in that results in a made basket on the other end by B2. Coach A approaches the scorer's table and requests a time out to address the error in allowing B1 to run the baseline.

Q1. Is this an error that is correctable?

Q2. If not, does Team A get charged a timeout for the stoppage and is it a technical since no TO's left?


Unfortunately, no, yes, and yes. And then yes, you never work that gym again!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1