The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Interesting situation in a scrimmage. I was trail when B1 steals the ball from A1 at midcourt. B1 has made a controlled tap from A1 directly towards me. I was in transition as the new lead when I inadvertently kicked the ball out of bounds.

There was no way the ball would have gone out unless I had kicked it. However, I seem to recall the rule in this situation would penalize B1 by giving the ball back to Team A.

Who should get the ball and how is the rule administered?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
you would have to go with whoever had team control at the time of the kick out of bounds and give the ball to the other team!!!! So do you consider the tap control or not??? your decision!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by djskinn
Interesting situation in a scrimmage. I was trail when B1 steals the ball from A1 at midcourt. B1 has made a controlled tap from A1 directly towards me. I was in transition as the new lead when I inadvertently kicked the ball out of bounds.

There was no way the ball would have gone out unless I had kicked it. However, I seem to recall the rule in this situation would penalize B1 by giving the ball back to Team A.

Who should get the ball and how is the rule administered?
It's not who had team control last, it's who touched it last that matters.

The ball hitting the official is just like the ball hitting the floor (except that the floor doesn't feel like a goofball when the ball hits it). Team A gets the ball if B1 hit it last. That's the way it goes sometimes. Nice that it was a scrimmage rather than the first game of the year.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
I thought it was whoever touched the ball last.

Per my situation, the steal and the controlled tip by B1 just happened to get tangled in my legs. Otherwise, B1 has an easy 2 points.

This really puts Team B at a disadvantage.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 02:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
you would have to go with whoever had team control at the time of the kick out of bounds and give the ball to the other team!!!! So do you consider the tap control or not??? your decision!
Naw, Z has the right answer. The violation is on the last player in-bounds to touch it before the ball went OOB. Control of any kind doesn't matter. R7-2-1.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
your correct, my bad i was thinking of a prior discussion about team control and had a "brain cramp".... thank God it's friday!!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
Quote:
Originally posted by djskinn
I thought it was whoever touched the ball last.

Per my situation, the steal and the controlled tip by B1 just happened to get tangled in my legs. Otherwise, B1 has an easy 2 points.

This really puts Team B at a disadvantage.

How does this put B at a disadvantage if they had a "steal and controlled tip"? Were you running down the middle of the floor? I don't mean to be a smart-elic.
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
[QUOTE
"How does this put B at a disadvantage if they had a "steal and controlled tip"? Were you running down the middle of the floor? I don't mean to be a smart-elic."
[/QUOTE]

Good question. I was just a few feet from the sideline. The ball was tipped forward and to my right (courtside). The ball just happened to catch my leg and I caused the ball to go immediately left and out-of-bounds. Otherwise, the ball would have safely been on the court.

Also, the B1 was just a step or two from easily recovering the ball.


[Edited by djskinn on Nov 12th, 2004 at 04:07 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1