The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 06, 2004, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to tjchamp
I think this was just in here, but can't find it.

B1's momentum carries him out of bounds at midcourt while he throws ball back in bounds towards his basket. He then takes 3 or 4 steps out of bounds (his momentum direction), tracks down the ball at the free throw line extended, starts dribble and goes in for layup. Legal? Does he need to come back in at the spot he went out? NFHS rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 06, 2004, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
No. As long as he returns as soon as he's able to, he's fine.

Some officials are trying to make more out of this play than there is to it.

We don't need to be plumbers.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 06, 2004, 01:52pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
NFHS case book play 7.1.1SitC.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 06, 2004, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
One could argue that the throw was a pass/beginning of a dribble, which would make it a double dribble if A1 returns in bounds secures the ball and starts a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 06, 2004, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,031
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
This year, this play will be a violation in the NCAA. At least, that's my understanding of the rule change.
Not true, to my understanding.

The change was to change a play that laste year would have been a T (e.g., running around a screen OOB) from a T to a V. The "momentum carries a player out of bounds" AR is still in the book as a legal play.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 09:27am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
That's not we were told, Bob. We were told that intentionally going OOB to gain an advantage is still a T. I guess I'll go dig a little.
Chuck, even though you made the save in the air, you also made it in-bounds. You didn't then do anything OOB after landing there to gain any kind of an advantage, did you?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 10:18am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Chuck, even though you made the save in the air, you also made it in-bounds. You didn't then do anything OOB after landing there to gain any kind of an advantage, did you?
Assuming that you went OOB inadvertantly (due to momentum), then you're right. In that case, coming back inbounds and being the first to touch the ball is, I believe, a violation this year in the NCAA.

Going OOB intentionally to gain an advantage (to go around a screen) is, I believe, still a T.
The point is that when you saved the ball, you weren't OOB. Therefore, going OOB after you saved the ball didn't give you any kind of advantage, did it? Ergo, no advantage --> no T.

Isn't the principle spelled out in NCAA 7-1-1AR1-"Legal. A1 has not left the court voluntarily and was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court"?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Nov 7th, 2004 at 10:41 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
I went back and deleted my posts in this thread, b/c the the AR seems very clear. I looked through Rule 10 and re-read the new violation. It is pretty obvious that Bob is absolutely right. Which means that the discussion at our pre-season meeting was very confused.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 08:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
I went back and deleted my posts in this thread, b/c the the AR seems very clear. I looked through Rule 10 and re-read the new violation. It is pretty obvious that Bob is absolutely right. Which means that the discussion at our pre-season meeting was very confused.
Now we've got the confusion of Jurassic responding to ghost-posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1