The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 10:18am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Chuck, even though you made the save in the air, you also made it in-bounds. You didn't then do anything OOB after landing there to gain any kind of an advantage, did you?
Assuming that you went OOB inadvertantly (due to momentum), then you're right. In that case, coming back inbounds and being the first to touch the ball is, I believe, a violation this year in the NCAA.

Going OOB intentionally to gain an advantage (to go around a screen) is, I believe, still a T.
The point is that when you saved the ball, you weren't OOB. Therefore, going OOB after you saved the ball didn't give you any kind of advantage, did it? Ergo, no advantage --> no T.

Isn't the principle spelled out in NCAA 7-1-1AR1-"Legal. A1 has not left the court voluntarily and was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court"?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Nov 7th, 2004 at 10:41 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1