The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 02, 2004, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Grail
Backcourt. A2 intentionally taps back to A1, thus has gained control of the ball in the frontcourt.
Actually, A2 doesn't gain player control unless he/she holds or dribbles the ball inbounds.

Also, intention has nothing to do with it---if A2 is in the front court, facing away from A1 and the ball bounces off his/her back, it's still a violation for A1 to retrieve the ball in the back court.

In fact, A2 doesn't even have to touch the ball. If A1 standing in the backcourt tosses the ball in the air with backspin. The ball bounces in the front court and rolls back to A3, who is in the back court. This is a violation. (It's not a violation if A1 retrieves the ball, since then this is A1's dribble, which means that the ball doesn't attain front court status until both of A1's feet and the ball touch the front court.)

Confused now?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1