The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 05, 2001, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
This sitution brought out a lot of discussion at our board meeting the other night so I thought I'd run it by this crew. This happened in a game one of our officials had and they weren't sure they got it right. A1 releases the ball on try. While the ball is in flight and outside the cylinder, A2 grabs and hangs on the rim (why, we don't know?!?!). Official immediately blows his whistle and bangs A2 with a technical foul. Ball subsequently enters the basket. Official waves off the basket. Question is since the ball was out of A1's hands and clearly in flight, should the basket have counted? I believe the technical foul does not immediately kill the play and, therefore, because the ball was out of A1's hand and clearly in flight, the goal should have counted. However, some other officials on our board felt that the technical foul immediately killed the play. The closest case book play I could find is 10.3.8D.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1