The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 02, 2004, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by BamaRef
I'm still not sure what the correct answer is and why. If the player had not passed the ball, but instead, had landed in backcourt then the play would have been legal the exception being that the player catching the ball on a throw in can land either in backcourt or frontcourt or land straddling the division line. Is the fact that he passed the ball to a teammate who is in backcourt the reason it is a violation as Matt S. states or is there another reason.
The pass is the reason. The four requirements are met in both cases. The rule provides an exception for the airborne player who catches an throw in. The rule does not provide an exception for the player to whom the airborne player then throws the ball.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1