![]() |
|
|||
I am confused on how delay of game warnings are administered.
For example, team A makes the basket and taps the ball away from team B. First warning. A few minutes later, Team B has a throw in, team a, reaches across the line. Do we have another warning or a technical... thanks again, Mike |
|
|||
I think each is unique
Quote:
Looking in my NFHS book confirms that in 10-1-5c and d. It says in both of these sections "following the team warning for this delay." So that seems to me to say that each type of delay needs another delay of the same type to assess a T. Thanks David |
|
|||
Dave and Paul are correct. There are 3 situations in which the official should issue a team warning. They are:
-- interfering with the ball after it passes through the basket, -- breaking the throw-in plane during a throw-in, -- huddling in the FT lane when the official is ready to administer the FT. A team may be warned once for each of these before being penalized with a technical foul. So it's possible to issue 6 warnings in a game (3 for each team) without giving any T's for delay.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Just one more way of looking at it, a warning is for a single team only. If you warn A about a delay, you can't T B for the same offense, unless you have already warned them as well.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
![]()
Also remember - reaching through the plane and touching the ball also serves as the "first warning" in addition to being a T (if neither a reach through or a touch occurred previously), so if a teammate subsequently just reaches through, it's a T.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|