The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Alternating Possession (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16187-alternating-possession.html)

mbloise Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:34am

Alternating pos always throws we.

Here is a sample question I got from the following website: http://www.psboa.org

A-1 commits a throw-in violation durning alternating pos procedure. Offical awards ball to team B and has the scorer turn the arrow toward team B's basket. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes

Question i have is during alternating pos procedure, when do you instruct the scorer to switch arrow...

Thanks again all
Mike



jritchie Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:37am

when throw in ends!!!!
 
it ended with a violation on team A...switch arrow give team B the ball...

Damian Sat Oct 30, 2004 10:09pm

Wrong
 
For alternating posession, it is when the throw in ends. So in this case. If A was inbounding the ball because of an alternating posession and commited a violatin, B gets the ball, but the arrow still points to A. The violation includes throwing the ball out of bounds without touching someone.

This is different for the start of a game which is not alternating posession. For example, if during the initial jump ball, team B commits a violation, team will get the ball and the arrow is set to team B when the ball is at the throwers disposal. If then, A commits a throw in violation, B gets the ball, but still will have the arrow.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Oct 30, 2004 10:17pm

Re: Wrong
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
For alternating posession, it is when the throw in ends. So in this case. If A was inbounding the ball because of an alternating posession and commited a violatin, B gets the ball, but the arrow still points to A. The violation includes throwing the ball out of bounds without touching someone.

This is different for the start of a game which is not alternating posession. For example, if during the initial jump ball, team B commits a violation, team will get the ball and the arrow is set to team B when the ball is at the throwers disposal. If then, A commits a throw in violation, B gets the ball, but still will have the arrow.


Damian:

You are wrong. I do not have my rule books in front of me but both NFHS and NCAA rules agree that one of the ways a throw-in ends is when the team attepting the throw-in commits a throw-in violation. Therefore in the play of the original post is that when Team A commited the throw-in violation, the AP Arrow is reversed toward Team B's basket, Team B receives the ball for a throw-in as the penalty for Team A's throw-in violation, and Team B will get the ball for a throw-in for the next AP situation.

MTD, Sr.

Jurassic Referee Sun Oct 31, 2004 07:56am

Re: Re: Wrong
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
For alternating posession, it is when the throw in ends. So in this case. If A was inbounding the ball because of an alternating posession and commited a violatin, B gets the ball, but the arrow still points to A. The violation includes throwing the ball out of bounds without touching someone.


You are wrong. I do not have my rule books in front of me but both NFHS and NCAA rules agree that one of the ways a throw-in ends is when the team attepting the throw-in commits a throw-in violation. Therefore in the play of the original post is that when Team A commited the throw-in violation, the AP Arrow is reversed toward Team B's basket, Team B receives the ball for a throw-in as the penalty for Team A's throw-in violation, and Team B will get the ball for a throw-in for the next AP situation.


NFHS rule 6-4-4&5 is the rule citation that backs MTD Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Oct 31, 2004 10:37am

Re: Re: Re: Wrong
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
For alternating posession, it is when the throw in ends. So in this case. If A was inbounding the ball because of an alternating posession and commited a violatin, B gets the ball, but the arrow still points to A. The violation includes throwing the ball out of bounds without touching someone.


You are wrong. I do not have my rule books in front of me but both NFHS and NCAA rules agree that one of the ways a throw-in ends is when the team attepting the throw-in commits a throw-in violation. Therefore in the play of the original post is that when Team A commited the throw-in violation, the AP Arrow is reversed toward Team B's basket, Team B receives the ball for a throw-in as the penalty for Team A's throw-in violation, and Team B will get the ball for a throw-in for the next AP situation.


NFHS rule 6-4-4&5 is the rule citation that backs MTD Sr.


Good morning and Happy Halloween. Thanks for the backing up tired old man, LOL, last night. The family and I had just got back home from Youngstown, Ohio, where we watched the Youngstown State University Penquins defeat the Indiana State University Sycamores 45-20, to break four game losing streak. Now, to go watch the eleven year old and his light weigh football team play their final game of the season.

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1