The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2004, 06:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
I believe the ruling on this is wrong.

While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field-goal attempt is successful.

Ruling: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (5-7-7 Exc (2)).

Ok, now that I've typed this maybe I see where I was mistaken. Do we count the goal because it was not a player control foul? The ball was in flight and the foul was not on an airbourne shooter. The foul was off ball by a member of team A. My original thought was that the ball was dead immediately on the offensive foul so wave off the basket.

There is definitely one mistake with the ruling. There is no 5-7-7 Exc (2). There's not even a 5-7-7. Does anyone know what rule/exception they are refering to?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Randall

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1