The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16067-backcourt.html)

Laker D Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:04pm

Hello all.. I've been refereeing rec leagues, church leagues, YMCA leagues for 20 years.... and I'm also still playing the game actively... My question is as follows...

In Indiana HS basketball rules.. player A in the frontcourt passes the ball to player B who is also in the frontcourt, but jumps towards the backcourt, and catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt. It is my opinion that this is a backcourt violation. Opinions ? Rules ?

Thanks in advance...

Laker D

Nevadaref Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:12pm

If he jumps from the frontcourt, catches the ball while airborne, and then lands in the backcourt, it is a violation. That is unless he was passed the ball directly from a throw-in by a teammate.

blindzebra Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
Hello all.. I've been refereeing rec leagues, church leagues, YMCA leagues for 20 years.... and I'm also still playing the game actively... My question is as follows...

In Indiana HS basketball rules.. player A in the frontcourt passes the ball to player B who is also in the frontcourt, but jumps towards the backcourt, and catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt. It is my opinion that this is a backcourt violation. Opinions ? Rules ?

Thanks in advance...

Laker D

Not a violation. 9-9-ex.1 During a throw in.

Even though team control was established by player B, the exception is made during a jump ball or a throw in for a player to land before front court status is obtained.

If the ball is inbounds and in control of player A you have a violation.

[Edited by blindzebra on Oct 23rd, 2004 at 12:14 AM]

Nevadaref Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
Hello all.. I've been refereeing rec leagues, church leagues, YMCA leagues for 20 years.... and I'm also still playing the game actively... My question is as follows...

In Indiana HS basketball rules.. player A in the frontcourt passes the ball to player B who is also in the frontcourt, but jumps towards the backcourt, and catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt. It is my opinion that this is a backcourt violation. Opinions ? Rules ?

Thanks in advance...

Laker D

Not a violation. 9-9-ex.1

Even though team control was established by player B, the exception is made during a jump ball or a throw in for a player to land before front court status is obtained.

Nah, nah, Beat ya to it! And you didn't FTFQ!

Laker D Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:14pm

I need to add specifics... player B was in the air when he caught the ball... he never established possession in the frontcourt... just making sure...

Laker D Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:17pm

Jeez.. after reading my explanation I suck...

Player A was throwing in from out of bounds to player B, who jumps in the air from the frontcourt, catches the ball, then lands in the backcourt. Sorry for the confusion...

LD

blindzebra Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
I need to add specifics... player B was in the air when he caught the ball... he never established possession in the frontcourt... just making sure...
If it's not a throw in it does not matter if B was in the front court, jumped and landed in the BC, or jumped from the BC and caught the ball then landed in the FC; it's a violation in both cases.

blindzebra Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
Jeez.. after reading my explanation I suck...

Player A was throwing in from out of bounds to player B, who jumps in the air from the frontcourt, catches the ball, then lands in the backcourt. Sorry for the confusion...

LD

Not a violation.

Nevadaref Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
Jeez.. after reading my explanation I suck...

Player A was throwing in from out of bounds to player B, who jumps in the air from the frontcourt, catches the ball, then lands in the backcourt. Sorry for the confusion...

LD

Not a violation.

Oh, sure. Go back and change it so that bz is right. Thanks a lot. :)

BktBallRef Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
Jeez.. after reading my explanation I suck...

Player A was throwing in from out of bounds to player B, who jumps in the air from the frontcourt, catches the ball, then lands in the backcourt. Sorry for the confusion..

Legal play on a throw-in. There is no team control until the player catches the ball. However, the rule allows him to land in the BC without violating in this sitch.

Lotto Sat Oct 23, 2004 08:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
I need to add specifics... player B was in the air when he caught the ball... he never established possession in the frontcourt... just making sure...
If it's not a throw in it does not matter if B was in the front court, jumped and landed in the BC, or jumped from the BC and caught the ball then landed in the FC; it's a violation in both cases.

Of course it matters! In the latter case, it's a violation when the ball is caught. In the first case, it's not a violation until he lands. :)

(Actually, now that I think a little more, this can actually make a difference. Suppose that B, while in the air, touch passes the ball to teammate C, who is standing in the front court. No violation if B jumps from the frontcourt, violation if B jumps from the backcourt.)

blindzebra Sat Oct 23, 2004 11:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
I need to add specifics... player B was in the air when he caught the ball... he never established possession in the frontcourt... just making sure...
If it's not a throw in it does not matter if B was in the front court, jumped and landed in the BC, or jumped from the BC and caught the ball then landed in the FC; it's a violation in both cases.

Of course it matters! In the latter case, it's a violation when the ball is caught. In the first case, it's not a violation until he lands. :)

(Actually, now that I think a little more, this can actually make a difference. Suppose that B, while in the air, touch passes the ball to teammate C, who is standing in the front court. No violation if B jumps from the frontcourt, violation if B jumps from the backcourt.)

? My situations dealt with catching in the air going from FC to BC and BC to FC during a non-throw in, and both were 100% correct as written.

Now your pass from player B to player C is correct, but it has no baring on a player that jumped, caught and then landed which is what I said. ;)

Laker D Sat Oct 23, 2004 12:02pm

Just checking... so everyone agrees that this is NOT a violation on a throw in ? Is that a recent rule change ?

bob jenkins Sat Oct 23, 2004 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
Just checking... so everyone agrees that this is NOT a violation on a throw in ? Is that a recent rule change ?
Yes. No.


Camron Rust Sun Oct 24, 2004 01:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Laker D
Just checking... so everyone agrees that this is NOT a violation on a throw in ? Is that a recent rule change ?
Yes. No.


It was a change, but not very recent...maybe 7-9 years ago.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1