The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   back court or not???? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16057-back-court-not.html)

fastballbaker Fri Oct 22, 2004 02:24pm

Ruling...
Red team takes the ball out underneath their on basket.
They pass the ball inbounds and a player on the red team touches in at the 3 point line, then the ball travels to the back-court where the same player on the red team runs the ball down. No player on the blue team ever touched the ball only the red team...
Is this a backcourt violation and why or why not???
Thanks Baker

rockyroad Fri Oct 22, 2004 02:33pm

Nope...there is no team control on a throw-in, so you can't have over-and-back in your situation. Simply touching a ball does not establish player control, so there's no team control established...in order to have over-and-back we have to have:
-team control
-frontcourt status
-last to touch in frontcourt
-first to touch in backcourt
Hope this helps...

mick Fri Oct 22, 2004 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by fastballbaker
Ruling...
Red team takes the ball out underneath their on basket.
They pass the ball inbounds and a player on the red team touches in at the 3 point line, then the ball travels to the back-court where the same player on the red team runs the ball down. No player on the blue team ever touched the ball only the red team...
Is this a backcourt violation and why or why not???
Thanks Baker

There was no team control, thus there can be no back court violation.

fastballbaker Fri Oct 22, 2004 02:39pm

backcourt
 
I thought maybe that ball control was already established
since they were taking the ball out????

Nu1 Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:12pm

Re: backcourt
 
Quote:

Originally posted by fastballbaker
I thought maybe that ball control was already established
since they were taking the ball out????

There is no team control during a throw-in (and other circumstances I can't think of without looking in the book)

Mark Padgett Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:29pm

Re: backcourt
 
Quote:

Originally posted by fastballbaker
I thought maybe that ball control was already established
since they were taking the ball out????

There is no such term as "ball control" - only "team control" and "player control". Each is clearly defined in the NF rulebook. Many violations are dependent on the status of team and/or player control. Learning these definitions is just as important as learning the "live ball" - "dead ball" definitions.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 22, 2004 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Nope...there is no team control on a throw-in, so you can't have over-and-back in your situation. Simply touching a ball does not establish player control, so there's no team control established...in order to have over-and-back we have to have:
-team control
-frontcourt status
-last to touch in frontcourt
-first to touch in backcourt
Hope this helps...

This criteria list is not strictly true but good enough for 99% of real cases.

Jay R Fri Oct 22, 2004 04:29pm

In NCAA, there is team control during the throw-in but they have exceptions so the same situation is still legal.

[Edited by Jay R on Oct 22nd, 2004 at 05:32 PM]

AirForceDude Fri Oct 22, 2004 05:45pm

Case book 4.12.6 covers this, almost exactly same as your example question. No violation because no team control.

ChuckElias Fri Oct 22, 2004 05:49pm

Re: Re: backcourt
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
There is no such term as "ball control"
I can not believe that you wrote that without some other anatomical observation. . .

ChuckElias Fri Oct 22, 2004 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
This criteria list is not strictly true but good enough for 99% of real cases.
What would be the criterion for the other 1% of cases? You've got me stumped.

Dan_ref Fri Oct 22, 2004 07:25pm

Re: Re: Re: backcourt
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
There is no such term as "ball control"
I can not believe that you wrote that without some other anatomical observation. . .

What has bladder control got to do with this anyway?

bob jenkins Fri Oct 22, 2004 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
This criteria list is not strictly true but good enough for 99% of real cases.
What would be the criterion for the other 1% of cases? You've got me stumped.

the original list included:

-last to touch in frontcourt
-first to touch in backcourt


THe other 1% relate to those.

IT shoudl read:

- last to touch before going to backcourt
- first to touch after going to backcourt.

Touching in the frontcourt / backcourt (depending on the reuirement) is not required.


ChuckElias Fri Oct 22, 2004 09:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
IT shoudl read:

- last to touch before going to backcourt
- first to touch after going to backcourt.

I've read the list so much, I just interpreted it that way in the first place. :)

BktBallRef Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
This criteria list is not strictly true but good enough for 99% of real cases.
What would be the criterion for the other 1% of cases? You've got me stumped.

It has to do with the exceptions that are no longer listed as exceptions in the rule book.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1