![]() |
Ruling...
Red team takes the ball out underneath their on basket. They pass the ball inbounds and a player on the red team touches in at the 3 point line, then the ball travels to the back-court where the same player on the red team runs the ball down. No player on the blue team ever touched the ball only the red team... Is this a backcourt violation and why or why not??? Thanks Baker |
Nope...there is no team control on a throw-in, so you can't have over-and-back in your situation. Simply touching a ball does not establish player control, so there's no team control established...in order to have over-and-back we have to have:
-team control -frontcourt status -last to touch in frontcourt -first to touch in backcourt Hope this helps... |
Quote:
|
backcourt
I thought maybe that ball control was already established
since they were taking the ball out???? |
Re: backcourt
Quote:
|
Re: backcourt
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In NCAA, there is team control during the throw-in but they have exceptions so the same situation is still legal.
[Edited by Jay R on Oct 22nd, 2004 at 05:32 PM] |
Case book 4.12.6 covers this, almost exactly same as your example question. No violation because no team control.
|
Re: Re: backcourt
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: backcourt
Quote:
|
Quote:
-last to touch in frontcourt -first to touch in backcourt THe other 1% relate to those. IT shoudl read: - last to touch before going to backcourt - first to touch after going to backcourt. Touching in the frontcourt / backcourt (depending on the reuirement) is not required. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
It's not where they touched it but when. |
Quote:
For example, according to the 4 criteria, a throw-in situation where A2 leaves the floor in the FC, catches the ball while airborne and lands in the BC is a violation. But the former exception, now part of the rule, states that it isn't a violation. |
Quote:
I had in mind the cases where the ball hits the official and returns to the backcourt (still a violaion when A touches it even though they were not "the last to touch it in the frontcourt" or when a cross court bounce pass from a player in the backcourt near the division line bounces the ball in the FC on the pass but the receiver has a foot in the backcourt. Still a violation even though A never touched the ball in the FC. .... |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44pm. |