The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   ruling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16024-ruling.html)

xxssmen Thu Oct 21, 2004 07:49am

We have a close game, lead(score) changes 4 times within the last 3 min. of game. With 1 min. left Team A has the ball with the score tied, team A wants to run the clock down for 1 last shot. Now with with less than a min. left Team A assistant informs the coach that the score is wrong and that Team A is up by 1, now Team A coach decide to hold ball until 10 seconds left to ask the official to check the score saying that it is wrong and they should be up by 1.
After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1. Now Team B caoch is made because if he would of known that he would of foul team A to stop. Now my question is what is the ruling on this procedure? Team A caoch new that they were up by 1 so he purposely held the ball until the last 10 seconds before asking the official to check score.

Lotto Thu Oct 21, 2004 07:58am

Nothing you can do, I think. Play on.

Nevadaref Thu Oct 21, 2004 08:06am

Tell the Team B coaching staff to be more observent! The rule was applied properly in this case. Yes, what the coach of Team A did was sneaky, but he knew and used the rules to his advantage.

JugglingReferee Thu Oct 21, 2004 08:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by xxssmen
We have a close game, lead(score) changes 4 times within the last 3 min. of game. With 1 min. left Team A has the ball with the score tied, team A wants to run the clock down for 1 last shot. Now with with less than a min. left Team A assistant informs the coach that the score is wrong and that Team A is up by 1, now Team A coach decide to hold ball until 10 seconds left to ask the official to check the score saying that it is wrong and they should be up by 1.
After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1. Now Team B caoch is made because if he would of known that he would of foul team A to stop. Now my question is what is the ruling on this procedure? Team A caoch new that they were up by 1 so he purposely held the ball until the last 10 seconds before asking the official to check score.

Thanks for the coaching tip.

Adam Thu Oct 21, 2004 04:59pm

He could have held it until the end of the game and done the same thing.

Rodego Thu Oct 21, 2004 08:40pm

How did you know that Team A knew the score was wrong?

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 21, 2004 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rodego
How did you know that Team A knew the score was wrong?
Team A thought that they knew that the score was wrong. If they were wrong about that and the score was actually correct, then all it costs them is a charged TO. They would then still have the ball and last shot- score tied- with 10 seconds to go.

Mark Padgett Thu Oct 21, 2004 09:27pm

Did you remember to smack the scorer upside the head?

rainmaker Fri Oct 22, 2004 12:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Rodego
How did you know that Team A knew the score was wrong?
Team A thought that they knew that the score was wrong. If they were wrong about that and the score was actually correct, then all it costs them is a charged TO. They would then still have the ball and last shot- score tied- with 10 seconds to go.

Huh?!

Ref in PA Fri Oct 22, 2004 07:03am

Why?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by xxssmen

After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1.

Why would the scorer re-add up all the points and alter the running score? Is not the running score the official score and the individual points just icing on the cake?

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 22, 2004 07:45am

Re: Why?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref in PA
Quote:

Originally posted by xxssmen

After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1.

Why would the scorer re-add up all the points and alter the running score? Is not the running score the official score and the individual points just icing on the cake?

The running score is used as the official score IF you can't find any discrepancy. If the scorer does find a mistake, and knows for sure that it is a mistake, then you can alter the book and the running score at any time to reflect that mistake. The R can only alter rthe book himself if he has specific knowledge that the scorer screwed up.

Smitty Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:10am

Re: Re: Why?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref in PA
Quote:

Originally posted by xxssmen

After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1.

Why would the scorer re-add up all the points and alter the running score? Is not the running score the official score and the individual points just icing on the cake?

The running score is used as the official score IF you can't find any discrepancy. If the scorer does find a mistake, and knows for sure that it is a mistake, then you can alter the book and the running score at any time to reflect that mistake. The R can only alter rthe book himself if he has specific knowledge that the scorer screwed up.

I thought the official book was the official score, not the scoreboard. If there is a discrepancy and the official book differs from the scoreboard, the official book is what you go with. No?

bob jenkins Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:24am

Re: Re: Re: Why?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[B
The running score is used as the official score IF you can't find any discrepancy. If the scorer does find a mistake, and knows for sure that it is a mistake, then you can alter the book and the running score at any time to reflect that mistake. The R can only alter rthe book himself if he has specific knowledge that the scorer screwed up. [/B]
I thought the official book was the official score, not the scoreboard. If there is a discrepancy and the official book differs from the scoreboard, the official book is what you go with. No? [/B][/QUOTE]

That's correct. When JR was referring to the "running score" he was not referring to the scoreboard. He was referring to the "lines of numbers" at the top or side of the scorebook.


Smitty Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:29am

Re: Re: Re: Re: Why?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
That's correct. When JR was referring to the "running score" he was not referring to the scoreboard. He was referring to the "lines of numbers" at the top or side of the scorebook.


Ahhh, right. My mistake. I need to read more carefully.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 22, 2004 12:27pm

Re: Re: Re: Why?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref in PA
Quote:

Originally posted by xxssmen

After the timeout the official goes to the table and ask the score keeper to add the score and make sure it is right, after a few minutes of adding the score keeper said that he made a mistake and tha team A is up by 1.

Why would the scorer re-add up all the points and alter the running score? Is not the running score the official score and the individual points just icing on the cake?

The running score is used as the official score IF you can't find any discrepancy. If the scorer does find a mistake, and knows for sure that it is a mistake, then you can alter the book and the running score at any time to reflect that mistake. The R can only alter rthe book himself if he has specific knowledge that the scorer screwed up.

I thought the official book was the official score, not the scoreboard. If there is a discrepancy and the official book differs from the scoreboard, the official book is what you go with. No?

Only if you can't determine what the discrepancy is. If you can figure out which are in error, you go with whatever is correct.

Nevadaref Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by xxssmen
After the timeout the official goes to the table
I just wish to clarify that the Referee should go to the table right after the time-out is GRANTED, not wait until after it is over, to address the scoring problem.
If the challenging coach is correct, fix the mistake, and immediately continue the game without charging the TO.
If the challenging coach is incorrect, the score stands as is, that team is charged a full TO if they have one remaining (30-sec that is all they have OR an excess TO + T, if no TOs are available), and the team may use any time remaining in the charged TO before the game is resumed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1