The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to JohnBark
Angry

in my girls jr. high tonight, my partner was a total newbie. not that i'm a veteran official by any means. but, this guy didn't know squat!!! out of position, wrong mechanics, bad calls, bad no calls. both coaches were upset. and i quite frankly don't blame them. i had to settle several discussions and calls made by my partner.

he made us, meaning our crew (2 man), look very, very bad.

i didn't tell him what to do. i didn't feel it was my place. but, he made me look bad because of some of his non-calls. coaches were wanting explanations. and he had none.

missed called like missing the ball go out of bounds. both coaches looked at me for help. all i could tell them was i wasn't watching his area and that it was his call.

what was i suppose to do? i have never worked with another official that just didn't know where he was suppose to be or to do or anything related to officiating a basketball game.

any suggestions?

Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
All you can do is talk to him about it during breaks or at halftime. You can't do his explaining to the coaches, you can't make (all) his calls. You get thru it as best you can and then -- if he's receptive -- you try to point out to him some things he needs to work on.
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 11:00pm
Do not give a damn!!

Lightbulb Time to step up.