The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally posted by jr
nfhs rules, but want to know ncaa men also...

a1 takes a shot, a2 gets the rebound under team b's basket. upon going to lay the ball in (for some reason there was no team b player around), a1's shot falls short of the rim and the same player, a1, catches the attempt and lays it in. the attempt was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head.

walk or not?
Hmmm, I'm having a hard time following you, so I'm going to answer based on what I think you're saying.

When you say "the attempt was extremely short, possibly only two feet over his head," if by that you mean that the shot a1 put up only went a couple of feet into the air and wasn't really an attempted shot, then you've got a1 passing to him/herself. Violation.

If by that phrase you mean that when a1 got the rebound from a legitimate shot when s/he was only a couple of feet from the basket and had an easy lay up, it's as JRut said. Team control ends on a try, and any player, including the shooter may get the rebound.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1