The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2004, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by eg-italy


Last year a case was raised: a technical foul when the ball is at disposal of a player at mid-line for the throw-in at the start of the second period (i.e., with AP). Say the throw-in is for team A.

According to the 2003/2004 rulebook, the intermission was not ended. Hence the penalty was two FTs before the start of the period. The question was: what do you do with the AP arrow?

Well, I'm a bit embarrassed to tell you what the official interpretation was. Our "Technical Consultants", i.e., the chief instructors, claimed that team A had the ball after the FTs and that the arrow would remain to indicate team A even after the throw-in starting the period. Please, don't ask me why.

This doesn't seem strange to me. In NFHS play, if a Technical foul occurs during an intermission the next period is started with 2FT and possession to the offended team. The AP arrow would remain in the direction that it was. The team is getting the ball as part of the penalty for the T, not due to an AP situation.

Also, if the thrower has the ball OOB for an AP throw-in and a T is called during the throw-in, the arrow will NOT be reversed, since the throw-in was not completed.
What you say FIBA should be embarrassed about is the correct rule in the US for NFHS play.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1