The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2004, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 37
Question

Offensive player A1 is posted up and thrown a lob pass under the basket. A1 catches the pass and looks up to shoot but is directly under the backboard. Defensive player B2 has obtained defensive position to A1's rear.
In order to get the shot off A1 pushes back and displaces defensive player B2, from his rightful defensive position and then A1 shoots the ball.
Since there is body contact and shooter misses, jambing the ball to the underside of the backboard, My partner called a foul on the defender who remained vertical and put the shooter on the line shooting two.
What call would you make? What about an offensive player control foul, when the defender is displaced by the offensive player? Does it matter that the offensive player used his backside to displace the defender?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2004, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Offensive foul - player control (or no call). not a real difficult call in that situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2004, 10:12pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Thumbs up Good call.

Quote:
Originally posted by westview
Offensive foul - player control (or no call). not a real difficult call in that situation.
Thanks for coming to the forum, westview.

Given experience and confidence, yes. This is an easy call

But it can be a tough call for a newer official when the fans and offensive coach have seen that PC turned into a block by so many others.

mick
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2004, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Welcome to the forum, johny and westview. In that situation, I also called a foul on the defender and awarded 2 shots -- 10 years ago, when I had just one season of experience.

Nowadays, I got nothing, unless the defender is actually knocked down. In that case, I have a PC.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1