The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Spot Throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15649-spot-throw.html)

PGCougar Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:17pm

I'd like a little clarification on the spot throw-in. Regarding the 3 foot side-to-side limitation, is it necessary to have at least one foot on the floor within that corridor, or can a player be in the process of leaping (for example to get the ball over someone's outstretched arms) as he's moving sideways?

jritchie Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:21pm

the book says you can jump straight up to make a pass over someone's arms, but also says you have to stay within the 3 foot area with one foot, so probably a judgement call?????

zebraman Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:25pm

You just need to keep a foot "over" the 3-foot wide area, not necessarily touching the floor.

Z

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:27pm

Yes, the thrower can leap. The thrower must keep one foot on OR OVER the spot until the ball is released. Casebook play 7.6.2

ChuckElias Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:42pm

Is there a casebook play or a rule that directly addresses a situation where the inbounder jumps so that s/he is completly over the inbounds portion of the court before releasing the ball? I thought there was a casebook play that ruled this situation as a violation, but I can't find it.

psychobat Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:43pm

Can the person taking the ball out of bounds actually jump up and down within that 3 feet as long as they release the ball before the 5 second count?

rainmaker Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Is there a casebook play or a rule that directly addresses a situation where the inbounder jumps so that s/he is completly over the inbounds portion of the court before releasing the ball? I thought there was a casebook play that ruled this situation as a violation, but I can't find it.
Time to drag out the attic-residing briefcases!

ChuckElias Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by psychobat
Can the person taking the ball out of bounds actually jump up and down within that 3 feet as long as they release the ball before the 5 second count?
Yes. There are no traveling or pivot foot rules in effect during the throw-in.

rainmaker Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by psychobat
Can the person taking the ball out of bounds actually jump up and down within that 3 feet as long as they release the ball before the 5 second count?
Yup. and, no, it's not travelling. It's not even travelling if they leave the 3-foot area. There is no player control on an inbounds play, so there can be no travelling. Period.

jritchie Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:57pm

soooooooooooooo
 
if you have a spot throw in and they run down the line...what would you have then, if you don't have traveling?????

Adam Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by psychobat
Can the person taking the ball out of bounds actually jump up and down within that 3 feet as long as they release the ball before the 5 second count?
Yup. and, no, it's not travelling. It's not even travelling if they leave the 3-foot area. There is no player control on an inbounds play, so there can be no travelling. Period.

but....but....but....butt.

I've seen refs call traveling on this play; so it must be traveling. :D

Adam Thu Sep 30, 2004 01:00pm

jritchie,
It's simply a throw in violation. Same signal you use for calling out of bounds, or when the throwin is handed off, etc.

PGCougar Thu Sep 30, 2004 01:09pm

Follow-up
 
Just want to make sure about something. Can a player leave the spot, then return and inbound the ball from the spot area before the 5-second count expires or do they have to remain within the spot all the time before the release?

mick Thu Sep 30, 2004 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Is there a casebook play or a rule that directly addresses a situation where the inbounder jumps so that s/he is completly over the inbounds portion of the court before releasing the ball? I thought there was a casebook play that ruled this situation as a violation, but I can't find it.
4-41
7-6

Must assume throw-in spot is out-of-bounds. ;)
mick

jritchie Thu Sep 30, 2004 01:29pm

Book rule for that is where????
 
i've always seen it called traveling by every ref i have ever seen the violation on... i would love to be able to show them that in the rule book it is not a travel.. i've always seen it that way, so i guess that's why i call it that way....LEARN SOMETHING NEW EVERY DAY!! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1