The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Spot Throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15649-spot-throw.html)

PGCougar Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:17pm

I'd like a little clarification on the spot throw-in. Regarding the 3 foot side-to-side limitation, is it necessary to have at least one foot on the floor within that corridor, or can a player be in the process of leaping (for example to get the ball over someone's outstretched arms) as he's moving sideways?

jritchie Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:21pm

the book says you can jump straight up to make a pass over someone's arms, but also says you have to stay within the 3 foot area with one foot, so probably a judgement call?????

zebraman Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:25pm

You just need to keep a foot "over" the 3-foot wide area, not necessarily touching the floor.

Z

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:27pm

Yes, the thrower can leap. The thrower must keep one foot on OR OVER the spot until the ball is released. Casebook play 7.6.2

ChuckElias Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:42pm

Is there a casebook play or a rule that directly addresses a situation where the inbounder jumps so that s/he is completly over the inbounds portion of the court before releasing the ball? I thought there was a casebook play that ruled this situation as a violation, but I can't find it.

psychobat Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:43pm

Can the person taking the ball out of bounds actually jump up and down within that 3 feet as long as they release the ball before the 5 second count?

rainmaker Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Is there a casebook play or a rule that directly addresses a situation where the inbounder jumps so that s/he is completly over the inbounds portion of the court before releasing the ball? I thought there was a casebook play that ruled this situation as a violation, but I can't find it.
Time to drag out the attic-residing briefcases!

ChuckElias Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by psychobat
Can the person taking the ball out of bounds actually jump up and down within that 3 feet as long as they release the ball before the 5 second count?
Yes. There are no traveling or pivot foot rules in effect during the throw-in.

rainmaker Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by psychobat
Can the person taking the ball out of bounds actually jump up and down within that 3 feet as long as they release the ball before the 5 second count?
Yup. and, no, it's not travelling. It's not even travelling if they leave the 3-foot area. There is no player control on an inbounds play, so there can be no travelling. Period.

jritchie Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:57pm

soooooooooooooo
 
if you have a spot throw in and they run down the line...what would you have then, if you don't have traveling?????

Adam Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by psychobat
Can the person taking the ball out of bounds actually jump up and down within that 3 feet as long as they release the ball before the 5 second count?
Yup. and, no, it's not travelling. It's not even travelling if they leave the 3-foot area. There is no player control on an inbounds play, so there can be no travelling. Period.

but....but....but....butt.

I've seen refs call traveling on this play; so it must be traveling. :D

Adam Thu Sep 30, 2004 01:00pm

jritchie,
It's simply a throw in violation. Same signal you use for calling out of bounds, or when the throwin is handed off, etc.

PGCougar Thu Sep 30, 2004 01:09pm

Follow-up
 
Just want to make sure about something. Can a player leave the spot, then return and inbound the ball from the spot area before the 5-second count expires or do they have to remain within the spot all the time before the release?

mick Thu Sep 30, 2004 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Is there a casebook play or a rule that directly addresses a situation where the inbounder jumps so that s/he is completly over the inbounds portion of the court before releasing the ball? I thought there was a casebook play that ruled this situation as a violation, but I can't find it.
4-41
7-6

Must assume throw-in spot is out-of-bounds. ;)
mick

jritchie Thu Sep 30, 2004 01:29pm

Book rule for that is where????
 
i've always seen it called traveling by every ref i have ever seen the violation on... i would love to be able to show them that in the rule book it is not a travel.. i've always seen it that way, so i guess that's why i call it that way....LEARN SOMETHING NEW EVERY DAY!! :)

Barry C. Morris Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:10pm

Re: Book rule for that is where????
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
i've always seen it called traveling by every ref i have ever seen the violation on... i would love to be able to show them that in the rule book it is not a travel.. i've always seen it that way, so i guess that's why i call it that way....LEARN SOMETHING NEW EVERY DAY!! :)
If you want to show them in the rule book that there is no such thing as a travel during a throw-in, simply point them to Basketball Fundamentals #2 and #5. Number 5 explicitly states it and #2 implies it because you can't travel if you don't have player control. It doesn't get any more fundamental than that.;)

FrankHtown Fri Oct 01, 2004 08:59am

9-2-1.The player shall not...."leave the designated throw -in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass."

Adam Fri Oct 01, 2004 09:14am

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
9-2-1.The player shall not...."leave the designated throw -in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass."
And??

jritchie Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:25am


[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
9-2-1.The player shall not...."leave the designated throw -in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass."
Yeah, and then what...we got that part, we need to know what it says after that????? all i have with me is my case book, it skips 9-2-1...guess they didn't think they needed an example of that.. :)

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
9-2-1.The player shall not...."leave the designated throw -in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass."
Yeah, and then what...we got that part, we need to know what it says after that????? all i have with me is my case book, it skips 9-2-1...guess they didn't think they needed an example of that.. :)

It simply says that it's a violation. To signal it, according to the NFHS official signal list at the end of the rules you use:
1) Signal 1- "start clock"- but raised arm does NOT chop time in.
-followed by:
2) Signal 25- "designated spot or other violations"

Couldn't be simpler.

FrankHtown Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:53am

Sorry...was answering PGCougar :0

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Oct 01, 2004 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Is there a casebook play or a rule that directly addresses a situation where the inbounder jumps so that s/he is completly over the inbounds portion of the court before releasing the ball? I thought there was a casebook play that ruled this situation as a violation, but I can't find it.
Time to drag out the attic-residing briefcases!


ROFLMAO. From Spring 1991 to Spring 2003, I was on 800 mg per day of Motrin for my knees, when I then had my knee scoped, my ortho put me on 50 mg per day of Vioxx. I guess I am not going climb the ladder to go up in the attic for a while am I.

MTD, Sr.

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 01, 2004 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
[/B]
From Spring 1991 to Spring 2003, I was on 800 mg per day of Motrin for my knees, when I then had my knee scoped, my ortho put me on 50 mg per day of Vioxx.

[/B][/QUOTE]Whoa, Mark. Check out today's new's stories, please. They're taking Vioxx off of the market. Not good for us old guys- doubles the chance of us having heart attacks or strokes. I was on Celebrex for my knees too- and my doctor took me off of it months ago for the same reason.

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 01, 2004 02:50pm

Att'n- MTD Sr.
 
Mark, check out this link:
http://health.yahoo.com/search/healt...$&p=id%3A63516

Mark Dexter Fri Oct 01, 2004 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
my ortho put me on 50 mg per day of Vioxx.
Hopefully not anymore. :eek:

ChuckElias Fri Oct 01, 2004 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
when I then had my knee scoped, my ortho put me on 50 mg per day of Vioxx. I guess I am not going climb the ladder to go up in the attic for a while am I.
Whoa, Mark. Check out today's new's stories, please. They're taking Vioxx off of the market. [/B]
I think Mark already knew that. I think that's why he won't be going up the ladder for a while -- b/c they've taken away his pain meds.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Oct 01, 2004 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
when I then had my knee scoped, my ortho put me on 50 mg per day of Vioxx. I guess I am not going climb the ladder to go up in the attic for a while am I.
Whoa, Mark. Check out today's new's stories, please. They're taking Vioxx off of the market.
I think Mark already knew that. I think that's why he won't be going up the ladder for a while -- b/c they've taken away his pain meds. [/B]

Gosh Chuck, if you understood what I meant you must be off your meds too. :-)

MTD, Sr.

Nevadaref Sat Oct 02, 2004 12:16am

Re: Re: Book rule for that is where????
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Barry C. Morris
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
i've always seen it called traveling by every ref i have ever seen the violation on... i would love to be able to show them that in the rule book it is not a travel.. i've always seen it that way, so i guess that's why i call it that way....LEARN SOMETHING NEW EVERY DAY!! :)
If you want to show them in the rule book that there is no such thing as a travel during a throw-in, simply point them to Basketball Fundamentals #2 and #5. Number 5 explicitly states it and #2 implies it because you can't travel if you don't have player control. It doesn't get any more fundamental than that.;)

It is also in 6-1-1.
"...a jump ball in the center restraining circle, by a throw-in or by a free throw. The dribble and traveling rules are not in effect in these situations."

rainmaker Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
when I then had my knee scoped, my ortho put me on 50 mg per day of Vioxx. I guess I am not going climb the ladder to go up in the attic for a while am I.
Whoa, Mark. Check out today's new's stories, please. They're taking Vioxx off of the market.
I think Mark already knew that. I think that's why he won't be going up the ladder for a while -- b/c they've taken away his pain meds. [/B]
The meds I was on last week, I was climbing the walls. I'd have been glad to get his briefcase down for him!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Oct 04, 2004 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
when I then had my knee scoped, my ortho put me on 50 mg per day of Vioxx. I guess I am not going climb the ladder to go up in the attic for a while am I.
Whoa, Mark. Check out today's new's stories, please. They're taking Vioxx off of the market.
I think Mark already knew that. I think that's why he won't be going up the ladder for a while -- b/c they've taken away his pain meds.
The meds I was on last week, I was climbing the walls. I'd have been glad to get his briefcase down for him! [/B]

ROFLMAO

rainmaker Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
when I then had my knee scoped, my ortho put me on 50 mg per day of Vioxx. I guess I am not going climb the ladder to go up in the attic for a while am I.
Whoa, Mark. Check out today's new's stories, please. They're taking Vioxx off of the market.
I think Mark already knew that. I think that's why he won't be going up the ladder for a while -- b/c they've taken away his pain meds.
The meds I was on last week, I was climbing the walls. I'd have been glad to get his briefcase down for him!

ROFLMAO [/B]
Come on, Mark, it wasn't THAt funny!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 05, 2004 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
when I then had my knee scoped, my ortho put me on 50 mg per day of Vioxx. I guess I am not going climb the ladder to go up in the attic for a while am I.
Whoa, Mark. Check out today's new's stories, please. They're taking Vioxx off of the market.
I think Mark already knew that. I think that's why he won't be going up the ladder for a while -- b/c they've taken away his pain meds.
The meds I was on last week, I was climbing the walls. I'd have been glad to get his briefcase down for him!

ROFLMAO
Come on, Mark, it wasn't THAt funny! [/B]

Oh yes it was, because when I was on my meds, my wife would lock me in the attic. ;-) ;-) ;-)

actuary77 Sun Oct 17, 2004 02:36am

Just to clarify
 
Just to clarify.

So for a spot throw-in, the player throwing the ball in has a 3-foot "box" to work in and he can move within that "box" and it's not a violation?

What if he leaves that 3-foot "box"? Snaqwells said it's not traveling but simply a throw-in violation. So is the penalty to award the ball to the opposing team?

ChuckElias Sun Oct 17, 2004 05:56am

Re: Just to clarify
 
Quote:

Originally posted by actuary77
Just to clarify.

So for a spot throw-in, the player throwing the ball in has a 3-foot "box" to work in and he can move within that "box" and it's not a violation?


That's correct.

Quote:

What if he leaves that 3-foot "box"? Snaqwells said it's not traveling but simply a throw-in violation. So is the penalty to award the ball to the opposing team?
That's also correct.

Welcome to the forum! :)

Back In The Saddle Sun Oct 17, 2004 01:20pm

Re: Just to clarify
 
Quote:

Originally posted by actuary77
Just to clarify.

So for a spot throw-in, the player throwing the ball in has a 3-foot "box" to work in and he can move within that "box" and it's not a violation?

What if he leaves that 3-foot "box"? Snaqwells said it's not traveling but simply a throw-in violation. So is the penalty to award the ball to the opposing team?

A 3-foot wide "box" that extends as far back as can be gone. He only has to keep one foot over that three foot "box". Which, if you think about it, makes that three foot "box" pretty wide. For example, he can move left in that box until only his right foot is over the box, then move back right until only his left foot is over that box. He can move back as far as he likes. If there's 10 feet back to the wall, he's got 10 feet. And, of course, he can jump. Multiple times.

actuary77 Sun Oct 17, 2004 04:02pm

Thanks!
 
Wow! Thanks all for the clarifications.

I always thought the traveling rules apply to the person throwing-in the ball as well (i.e. pivot foot rules). Like most of the people in the thread had indicated, I had seen multiple times traveling being called on the person throwing the ball in, both in the NBA and the NCAA. Maybe it's different for them but now I'm crystal clear on how it should be for the NFHS.

Thanks again!

rainmaker Sun Oct 17, 2004 04:38pm

Re: Thanks!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by actuary77
...but now I'm crystal clear on how it should be for the NFHS.
And now it's your duty and pleasure to find the balance between correcting others who don't have a clue, and feeling quietly smug and superior to be "in the know" yourself.

Back In The Saddle Sun Oct 17, 2004 07:47pm

Re: Re: Thanks!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by actuary77
...but now I'm crystal clear on how it should be for the NFHS.
And now it's your duty and pleasure to find the balance between correcting others who don't have a clue, and feeling quietly smug and superior to be "in the know" yourself.

I find the quietly smug part to be a lot more fun :D

rainmaker Sun Oct 17, 2004 07:49pm

Re: Re: Re: Thanks!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by actuary77
...but now I'm crystal clear on how it should be for the NFHS.
And now it's your duty and pleasure to find the balance between correcting others who don't have a clue, and feeling quietly smug and superior to be "in the know" yourself.

I find the quietly smug part to be a lot more fun :D

yes, and as a rule, more politically wise. However, the occasional authoritative word thrown into a clueless conversation has its afterglow.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1