The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Nope, can't agree. The violation results from being OOB while in possession- i.e. player control- of the ball. The question here is when that possession(player control) actually ends in this particular case. If the possession ended before the touching, you can't have a violation because the player is no longer a dribbler, and R9-3NOTE can't possibly apply.
Uh-huh.

But, as obvious as this sounds, a player is in posession of the ball until he is no longer in posession of the ball. Unless that positive condition (loss of posession) has been met before steping OOB, they are still in posession at the time of the violation, hence a violation has occurred whether the ball returns to their hand or it caroms off into the next county.
I've been trying to get that through for 3 threads now, but it's not working. The dribble and/or player control must end BEFORE they go OOB, and what happens to the ball after the fact is meaningless.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1