The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 02:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
The rule book says explicitly that unless it was an interrupted dribble BEFORE they step out, it's a violation.
How do you know that it isn't an interrupted dribble until the player touched it AFTER they stepped out? And please don't start again on intentional dribbles must be accidental. There is NO wording to that effect anywhere in the rule book, as BktBallRef keeps pointing out to you. There are also no accurate criteria available in the book that will tell you EXACTLY when a dribble does become an interrupted dribble, except that player control is lost. Judgement call, BZ, and not everyone agrees with your judgement. If player control is lost before the player touches the ball again, then that player cannot be a "dribbler" by rule- and R9-3NOTE very explicitly states that it ONLY applies to "dribblers". [/B]
That is completely illogical. By that interpretation there would never be a dribble or player control during a dribble. Every dribble is AWAY from the dribbler on every bounce; by your logic every bounce is an interrupted dribble until it bounces back to the dribbler's hand, and that is not the intent of the rule.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1