The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Incorrect player shoots free throws (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15410-incorrect-player-shoots-free-throws.html)

zangief Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:43am

Now I realize that most of you guys ref big time ball. I myself referee high school summer leagues and adult recreation stuff. I had an adult league game, very casual. A2 was fouled by B1. A time out was then called. When play resumed, we went to the line to shoot 1 and 1 free throws. Both were made and play resumed. After the second was made, it was pointed out that the incorrect player shot the free throws. I talked to my partner and we both realized that he was correct, we just missed it. I know that was a very rookie mistake to make and that we should have paid attention to who the shooter was. However, the mistake was made, is it a correctable mistake?

Lotto Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by zangief
Now I realize that most of you guys ref big time ball. I myself referee high school summer leagues and adult recreation stuff. I had an adult league game, very casual. A2 was fouled by B1. A time out was then called. When play resumed, we went to the line to shoot 1 and 1 free throws. Both were made and play resumed. After the second was made, it was pointed out that the incorrect player shot the free throws. I talked to my partner and we both realized that he was correct, we just missed it. I know that was a very rookie mistake to make and that we should have paid attention to who the shooter was. However, the mistake was made, is it a correctable mistake?
Yup. And it was discovered in time to correct it, as well.

mick Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by zangief
Now I realize that most of you guys ref big time ball. I myself referee high school summer leagues and adult recreation stuff. I had an adult league game, very casual. A2 was fouled by B1. A time out was then called. When play resumed, we went to the line to shoot 1 and 1 free throws. Both were made and play resumed. After the second was made, it was pointed out that the incorrect player shot the free throws. I talked to my partner and we both realized that he was correct, we just missed it. I know that was a very rookie mistake to make and that we should have paid attention to who the shooter was. However, the mistake was made, is it a correctable mistake?
zangief,
Welcome to the board!

Indeed that error is correctable.
The penalty may vary depending upon intention and attention.
mick

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:50am

Yup, this one is a correctable error- right up to the first dead ball after the clock has started after the FT's. Cancel both FT's and put the correct shooter on the line for the 1-1. If you felt that the wrong offensive player deliberately took the FT's, you could have T'd him up for an unsporting act too.

mick Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, this one is a correctable error- right up to the first dead ball after the clock has started after the FT's. Cancel both FT's and put the correct shooter on the line for the 1-1. If you felt that the wrong offensive player deliberately took the FT's, you could have T'd him up for an unsporting act too.
A1 is awarded 2 free throws.
A2 intentionally takes the throws.
A2 gets whacked.

Does A1 get two throws before the ball is awarded to B? :)

mick

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 16, 2004 11:01am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, this one is a correctable error- right up to the first dead ball after the clock has started after the FT's. Cancel both FT's and put the correct shooter on the line for the 1-1. If you felt that the wrong offensive player deliberately took the FT's, you could have T'd him up for an unsporting act too.
A1 is awarded 2 free throws.
A2 intentionally takes the throws.
A2 gets whacked.

Does A1 get two throws before the ball is awarded to B? :)


Aw, you know the answer, you devious little Yooper. :D It's good to teach!

False double foul. A1 gets 2 substitute FT's with the lane cleared. Any B player(s) then shoots 2 FT's for A2's T with the lane cleared. B gets the ball at center opposite the benches.

Dan_ref Thu Sep 16, 2004 11:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, this one is a correctable error- right up to the first dead ball after the clock has started after the FT's. Cancel both FT's and put the correct shooter on the line for the 1-1. If you felt that the wrong offensive player deliberately took the FT's, you could have T'd him up for an unsporting act too.
A1 is awarded 2 free throws.
A2 intentionally takes the throws.
A2 gets whacked.

Does A1 get two throws before the ball is awarded to B? :)

mick

Trick question?

Under fed, fouls administered in the order they occur...A1 gets his throws, B gets his throws and the ball at midcourt. No?

Under NCAA, T's are at POI...B gets his throws then we administer A1's throws.

No?

BTW Z, this is not a *rookie* mistake. It's an *avoidable* mistake, but it does happen at every level.

Never to me though... ;)


[Edited by Dan_ref on Sep 16th, 2004 at 12:06 PM]

mick Thu Sep 16, 2004 11:05am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, this one is a correctable error- right up to the first dead ball after the clock has started after the FT's. Cancel both FT's and put the correct shooter on the line for the 1-1. If you felt that the wrong offensive player deliberately took the FT's, you could have T'd him up for an unsporting act too.
A1 is awarded 2 free throws.
A2 intentionally takes the throws.
A2 gets whacked.

Does A1 get two throws before the ball is awarded to B? :)


Aw, you know the answer, you devious little Yooper. :D It's good to teach!

False double foul. A1 gets 2 substitute FT's with the lane cleared. Any B player(s) then shoots 2 FT's for A2's T with the lane cleared. B gets the ball at center opposite the benches.

Thanks, JR!
It's good to learn. :)
mick

mick Thu Sep 16, 2004 11:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, this one is a correctable error- right up to the first dead ball after the clock has started after the FT's. Cancel both FT's and put the correct shooter on the line for the 1-1. If you felt that the wrong offensive player deliberately took the FT's, you could have T'd him up for an unsporting act too.
A1 is awarded 2 free throws.
A2 intentionally takes the throws.
A2 gets whacked.

Does A1 get two throws before the ball is awarded to B? :)

mick

Trick question?

Under fed, fouls administered in the order they occur...A1 gets his throws, B gets his throws and the ball at midcourt. No?

Under NCAA, T's are at POI...B gets his throws then we administer A1's throws.

No?

BTW Z, this is not a *rookie* mistake. It's an *avoidable* mistake, but it does happen at every level.

Never to me though... ;)

Yer right, Dan.
...Not just a rookie mistake. I bet that's why a few rules are needed cover it.
mick

Nevadaref Sun Sep 19, 2004 12:18am

If I recall correctly, there was a wrong FT shooter problem in one of the early round games of last year's NCAA tourney. They had to go to the monitor to check for the correct shooter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1