![]() |
High School Rules apply to this question.
Red team on the free throw line shooting 2 free throws. On the 2nd free through after she releases the ball and before the ball hits the rim or backboard she crosses the free throw line. At the same exact time a blue player on the lane crosses the line. Is this a double violation and you go with the possession arrow? |
Yes, double violation. Go with the arrow.
|
Simultaneous(at the exact same time) violations by opponents on the last scheduled FT give you an immediate dead ball, no point scored and an AP. NFHS rule 9-1PENALTY3.
|
what if???
blue went over first while the ball was on the way to the rim, then just before it hit the rim red went over?? same thing right???? double violation??? some people try to say that the blue violated first so if the shot misses they give them another shot and the other violation was ignored..i think they are taking the order to far on that one
|
If both violators are in marked lane spaces, then you only penalize the first one, even if they happen very close together.
If one or both of the violators are not along the lane lines (e.g., the FT shooter or players outside the 3-point arc), then you have a double violation and penalize both violations (go to the arrow), regardless of whether one is clearly before the other. |
i agree
|
Re: what if???
Quote:
Adam |
I've always said this is a serious glitch in the rules.
Here's why: Let's say team A is on the free-throw line to shoot the second of two free throws while trailing by two points with three seconds to go in the game. AP arrow is in Team A's favor. In theory, if B1 violates, shooter A1 would be SMART to also violate, thus creating the double violation, which would give the ball back to Team A with three seconds to play and a chance to go for a tie or for a win with a three-pointer. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Re: Re: what if???
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: what if???
Quote:
NFHS rule 9-1PENALTY4(a)(b). |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47pm. |