![]() |
I play in a community basketball league (adult men). Governed by High school and NCAA rules or so they say. The other night I was about 2 feet below the freethrow line positioning myself as a defender was running toward me to make a lay-up. about 6 steps before the opponent reached me I make the choice to stop where I was raise my hands straight up and just stand there. The player did not swerve around me and clipped half my body and sent me flying. I was assessed the foul for blocking. I asked the ref if I had moved or stuck my hip out as to create contact and he said no, that by just standing there and allowing the player to run into me is a blocking foul every time. He told me I should have moved instead of just standing there. Needless to say I argued the call. My understanding has always been that if I have two feet planted have position, and the opposing player DOESN'T have at least one shoulder past me and creates contact that that is charging. What is the official rule on charging and blocking and is there some site where I can print out the rule if I am right to discuss this further with the refs that govern our games??? please email me
[email protected] |
He said what?
I do not know how a league can use both NF (High School rules) and NCAA Rules. It has to be one or the other, unless you want craziness.
I am really confused by your post. Not sure I understand what you are asking. Having said that, you have a right to a position on the court. As long as you have established legal guarding position as a defender, you can keep your position. But there is no such thing as "two feet planted" in the rulebook. You can move your feet to maintain LGP. It sounds like the official was wrong, but I am not completely sure what he told you. That is the part you lost me. Peace |
It sounds like the official that you had didn't really know or understand the rule, which isn't really that uncommon in recreation leagues. The basic rule for guarding says:
- You have to initially establish a "legal guarding position", which you do by getting in your opponent's path, and then facing your opponent with both feet on the floor. - As Jeff said, once you have established your "legal guarding position", you can maintain by it by moving laterally or obliquely, but you never can be moving towards your opponent when the contact occurs. There is no longer any prerequisite that you have to keep both feet on the floor, or that you must be "set" when the contact occurs. You do have to be completely inbounds though. You don't even have to continue facing your opponent; you can turn or duck to protect yourself from the contact. You don't have to allow any minimum distance, either, after you established your legal guarding position. The onus for contact shifted equally to your opponent and yourself, dependant on where the contact occurs. - If contact occurs, we look to see where the point of contact is. If you have maintained a legal guarding position and the contact is now on your torso, then the correct call should be a charge. If the contact is outside your torso, on an arm or outstretched leg for example, then the correct call would be a block on the defender. - Note that the above doesn't apply completely if the offensive player becomes airborne. In that case, you have to be there before the player leaves his feet; you can't move under or into the path of an airborne player after he has left his feet, no matter if you are set or not when the contact occurs. Try the link below; click on the NCAA basketball playing rules and look in rule #4 under "Guarding". These are in pdf format, and are printable. http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules.html Welcome to the forum. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Sep 10th, 2004 at 07:22 AM] |
Quote:
|
Blarge
At a clinic I attended last week, we were told to always call the block if the defender was standing directly under the basket because the defender is not really playing defense. Kind of like the circle in the NBA. The people running the clinic stated the circle will most likely filter down to college and HS.
Maybe the official misunderstood the positioning of the defender HAD to be under the basket. [Edited by OldCoachNewRef on Sep 10th, 2004 at 10:44 AM] |
Re: Blarge
Quote:
Z |
Re: Re: Blarge
Quote:
Peace |
Re: Re: Re: Blarge
Quote:
And now I have some understanding why, until the NFHS/NCAA changes it, call it how it's writtain, defender has gained legal guarding posistion, then any contact is a player control foul. It has to be called the same across the board, "one rule, one interpretation" It might be, but it is a widely used philosophy. The NF does not hire you or fire you when you do something outside of what an area wants. |
Re: Blarge
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Re: Blarge
Quote:
Peace |
Blarge
I am in my second year of officiating. This is the year to get certified. I will be taking the written test in Nov and will have my mechanics evaluated in March. If that situation is presented in the game I am getting evaluated, I am calling a block, otherwise, since evaluations are very subjective, I may get points taken off. If that same sit is on the written test, I call it a charge. I need to get at least an 86 in both parts to be certified or I will be attending the same classes and tests again next year.
|
Re: Re: Re: Blarge
Quote:
Z |
Re: Blarge
Quote:
I am sure you will have 14 other questions that will not deal with just one issue. You will do fine. ;) Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
This might have been the case in this game. |
clear it up
I had established my position well in front of the basket. 2nd, I was standing straight up with my hands in the air. 3rd. I was there at least 6-8 steps before the ball handler would have reached me. The ball handler clipped me. If you were to draw a line down my middle from head to crotch he would have clipped my whole right side and sent me flying to the floor. the official explained to me that I cannot just stand there and allow the ball handler to hit me, that is a block. He further explained that I DID NOT move my hips out to create contact nor did I use any other body part to create contact, it was the fact that I just stood there and allowed contact. Obviously I cannot just go to him and call him on a bad call I need some kind of written proof of rules in order to have them change the way they call that foul.
scott |
Quote:
This might have been the case in this game. [/B][/QUOTE]The language you are looking for is under "CONTACT" in NFHS rule 10-6-1--<i>"A player shall not.....impede the progress of an opponent by extending an arm, shoulder, hip or knee, or by bending the body into other than a normal position".</i> |
Quote:
However, this only matters if the contact is on that extended appendage. If the player is doing the splits but is still hit in the torso, the position of the arms and legs do not matter. Sounds like this case was simply called wrong. I've heard people before claim similar things. |
Re: clear it up
Quote:
Here is what you do. Wait until the game is over. Approach him quietly. Ask him to if he could show you this in the rulebook so you can know what to do. To this all calm and without emotion. It is clear that the official does not know the rule or you misunderstood what he told you. But you never have to move under that situation as long as you have established LGP. It just sound like he was making it up in order to get you off his back about this call. But this sounds like a Men's league and unfortunately you do not get very competent officials a good portion of the time. But usually "real" committed officials would never work those leagues. Tell us how it works out. Peace |
Re: Re: clear it up
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32am. |