The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Maryland vs Wakeforest: Technical (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1506-maryland-vs-wakeforest-technical.html)

Sven Wed Jan 17, 2001 10:34pm

Whew! This game on ESPN is a graduate class in officiating by itself. Plenty of physical play and whistles, but did the officials get this one wrong, or is there a difference between NCAA and NFHS rules in the following situation?

Personal foul on a Wake player followed immediately by a dead ball technical on Wake (may have been on the same player).

It appeared to me that the officials first administered the technical with the lane cleared and then put the players on the line for the bonus. In high school, we'd penalize the fouls in the order they occurred and shoot the bonus first, followed by the technical, with the lane cleared for both.

Anyone see this? If so, did my eyes deceive me or was this proper administration?

Sven

BigDave Wed Jan 17, 2001 11:27pm

your eyes are fine... ;)
 
In NCAA play, the technicals are administered immediately after they occur. I believe they are using the term "point of interruption".

Indy_Ref Thu Jan 18, 2001 08:12am

Well?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BigDave
In NCAA play, the technicals are administered immediately after they occur. I believe they are using the term "point of interruption".
I guess that means the offended team doesn't automatically get the ball after the T (since I'm not familiar with the NCAA rule)?

Todd VandenAkker Thu Jan 18, 2001 08:46am

Right. As of this year (men's and women's NCAA), all technical fouls are administered FIRST, then the game is resumed at the "point of interruption," regardless of who received the technical.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 18, 2001 09:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by Todd VandenAkker
Right. As of this year (men's and women's NCAA), all technical fouls are administered FIRST, then the game is resumed at the "point of interruption," regardless of who received the technical.
That's all non-flagrant technical fouls ...

Todd VandenAkker Thu Jan 18, 2001 11:05am

Details, details.

Bart Tyson Thu Jan 18, 2001 12:06pm

more details, point of interuption unless it is flagrant or intentional.

Bradley Batt Thu Jan 18, 2001 12:17pm

Bart has it right...

There are now three different penalties for technical fouls, depending on the type of technical foul.

For "administrative" technicals, such as the book being incorrect, reaching through the plane, delay of game, hanging on the rim, etc. the penalty is one free throw for the opposing team and resumption of play at the point of interruption.

For unsportsmanlike technicals, such as disrespectfully addressing an official, taunting, etc. the penalty is two free throws for the opposing team and resumption of play at the point of interruption.

For intentional and flagrant technicals, such as fighting, an intentional foul during a dead ball, etc. the penalty is two free throws for the opposing team and a throw-in at half-court for the opposing team. In this case the technical is administered exactly as the old rule - or just as the NF rule would be administered.

Bart Tyson Thu Jan 18, 2001 02:09pm

Bradley, just a small thing but, i think the intentional is still a throw in at the spot of the foul.

Todd VandenAkker Thu Jan 18, 2001 02:47pm

Intentional personal . . . yes.

Intentional technical . . . no.

Bradley Batt Thu Jan 18, 2001 03:44pm

Todd's right - a throw-in for an intentional technical would be at half-court.

Also, as of January 1st, the shot clock does not reset on technical fouls when the offensive team retains control of the ball; however, it does reset, regardless, on intentional and flagrant technicals.

hoopsrefBC Fri Jan 19, 2001 03:01am

Don't forget that if the offensive team is to retain the ball back after a technical. There will not be a reseting of the shot clock. Jan 1 NCAA clarification letter...

keep smiling

SH

bob jenkins Fri Jan 19, 2001 08:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by hoopsrefBC
Don't forget that if the offensive team is to retain the ball back after a technical. There will not be a reseting of the shot clock. Jan 1 NCAA clarification letter...

keep smiling

SH

That's only if the team committing the T keeps the ball. If it's an intentional or flagrant T, the other team always gets the ball, so the clock is always reset. (If the "defense" commits a "normal" T, then the clock is also reset).

williebfree Fri Jan 19, 2001 09:59am

Holy cow.....
 
one needs a College Degree to interpret the correct administration of the NCAA "T".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1