The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Dec 10, 1999, 09:36am
Official Forum Member

Angry

I'm an assistant coach at 4A school in Maryland. At halftime of a game recently, the scorer asked me to knock on the referees dressing room door to tell them there was 3 minutes left before the start of the second half. Since I was standing by the door. I knocked and announced the time. As I finished someone opened the door and to my surprise both referees were standing in the middle of the floor with the home team and coaching staff. I was floored. I stood and watched with my mouth open as they exited the room. One official saw my surprised look and turned to me and said "What?" I bit my tongue because we were the visiting team and still had a second half to play. I was quite angry about the appearance of favoritism. I wanted to just ask them about that after the game but they were gone before I had a chance to talk to them. I mean there was a classroom right next door to where the officials were that either the officials or the other team could have used. Am I paranoid or what?

Brian Williams
Old Fri Dec 10, 1999, 10:31am
Official Forum Member

Bad move on the officials part, it was innappropriate. It may have actually been harmless, but has the appearance of potential favortism, and should be avoided.

------------------
Brian Johnson
Old Fri Dec 10, 1999, 10:34am
In Memoriam

I don't know if you are paranoid or not. I'm not a doctor, but I do ref.
I think it was wrong, ...pure and simple.
But, I wonder why the in the heck the scorer sent you there in the first place. That's not something I would think the home team would do to a visitor.
Then I wonder why in the heck would the Coached and Refs be in the same room, too.
allcity, I think you got set up!
mick
Old Fri Dec 10, 1999, 10:46am
Official Forum Member