The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   bat the ball repeatedly to the air (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/14857-bat-ball-repeatedly-air.html)

Jurassic Referee Fri Aug 06, 2004 11:06am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker


Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
A more germane question would be what about the really tall player who dribbles up to a defender, bats the ball over the head of the defender, and then touches the ball on the backside of the defender before it hits the ground. That's only one tap, but it's a <font color = red>travel</font>. You'll see it every once in a while.
Traveling? Hmmmm...I don't think so. We better think about this a little more.

Well, think out loud, then, because I don't follow you. [/B][/QUOTE]Juulie, is it EVER possible to travel during a dribble? (hint- R4-15-4NOTE1).

R4-15-2 may be a l'il bit germane too.
[/B][/QUOTE]

Well, I don't understand what you're saying. I don't think I said he was travelling DURING a dribble. Perhpas my vocab is weak here. Let me try to word it differently. A1 dribbles toward defender. For one of his touches, he taps the ball up over a defender's head. He steps around the defender and touches the ball a second time before it hits the ground. That's not legal, is it? Should I call it something different from a travel, is that what you're getting at? Sheez, all this thinking is starting to make my brain smoke! [/B][/QUOTE]Juulie, by rule, you can't travel during a dribble. The 2nd. tap in the air, also by rule, doesn't end that particular dribble either. You can, however, commit an "illegal dribble" with that 2nd tap. That was Tony's point. It is a violation, but it ain't a "travelling" violation.

ysong Fri Aug 06, 2004 11:24am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[B][QUOTE]Originally posted by rainmaker


[B][QUOTE]Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Juulie, by rule, you can't travel during a dribble. The 2nd. tap in the air, also by rule, doesn't end that particular dribble either. You can, however, commit an "illegal dribble" with that 2nd tap. That was Tony's point. It is a violation, but it ain't a "travelling" violation.
If there is no player control (by the rule) at these time, can you consider him dribble at all? without dribbling in the first place, can we rule him "double dribble"?


Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Aug 06, 2004 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
What if a really tall player repeatedly bat the ball without meaningful contests from opponents, so he can bat the ball to anywhere he wants then bat it again before the ball touch the floor or anyone else, does he in fact "in control" the ball even though without holding or dribbling it?
You declare the bats as controlled by definition, and require a dribble. By the fourth or fifth one, there must have been a hold somewhere along the line. To bat the ball clear down the floor without it touching the floor or any other player would be physically impossible without a hold somewhere.

A more germane question would be what about the really tall player who dribbles up to a defender, bats the ball over the head of the defender, and then touches the ball on the backside of the defender before it hits the ground. That's only one tap, but it's a travel. You'll see it every once in a while.


Juulie:

I really have not been following this thread very closely, but I love your use of the word "germane." I just love to be able to use that word.

Have a nice weekend.

MTD, Sr.

BktBallRef Fri Aug 06, 2004 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Juulie, by rule, you can't travel during a dribble. The 2nd. tap in the air, also by rule, doesn't end that particular dribble either. You can, however, commit an "illegal dribble" with that 2nd tap. That was Tony's point. It is a violation, but it ain't a "travelling" violation.
Exactly.

The play is not traveling.

It is an illegal dribble.

4-15-2
During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air <B>provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).</B>



BktBallRef Fri Aug 06, 2004 07:23pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:


Is the really tall player holding the ball?

Is the really tall player passing the ball to himself?

Or is the really tall player dribbling the ball?

:)
No, he is not holding the ball. His bat is clean enough to even raise any suspicion of holding.

Yes, definately he is passing to himself, but without holding the ball. (or even without the ball resting on his fingers)

No, he is not dribbling as the way we usually see. The ball never touches the floor. But it seems like he is bounching the ball between him and the sky.

And he is going anywhere he wants, front court, back court, back and forth, longer than 5 seconds, longer than 10 seconds, longer than 24 seconds, until the end of the game. and no one can call time out.

I really wish the "rules" can stop him.
ysong, first, I was not replying to you with the response you quoted. I was replying to rainmaker's post on traveling.

Second, you have to be realistic. Have you ever seen a player do this for an extended period of time? A player is not going to be able to do what you suggest for 10 seconds or 24 seconds or until the game is over. That's not a reasonable expectation. Don't worry yourself over such things.

JugglingReferee Sun Aug 08, 2004 08:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Never saw Dennis Rodman play, did you?
I loved how Rodman got all those rebounds.

Too bad he was weird. He's a great player.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 10, 2004 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
When two players compete for a rebound (or a pass), one of the players barely reaches the ball and bats it up to the air again. the two players then jump for the second time. That same player reaches the ball again and bats it slightly away from the other player. realizing his height advantage, this player jumps and bats the ball the third time toward a more favorable spot in a very controlled fashion, while his competitors in the vicinity give up and watch his solo play.

Are all those repeated batting legal moves? when does the batting stop being legal, even with defenders in the vicinity?

Thanks.



4-15-4 Note 2 governs this play for NFHS rules.

ysong Tue Aug 10, 2004 04:17pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

A more germane question would be what about the really tall player who dribbles up to a defender, bats the ball over the head of the defender, and then touches the ball on the backside of the defender before it hits the ground. That's only one tap, but it's a travel. You'll see it every once in a while.
I have another more fundimental question here about rule 4-15-2:"During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).":

How the ball is batted into air? by striking it to the floor first then watching it bounces back, or by tilting the plam skyward to strike it directly upward?

Does the dribble automatically end if the palm tilts skyward?

Thanks.



bob jenkins Tue Aug 10, 2004 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Does the dribble automatically end if the palm tilts skyward?

Thanks.



Of course not.


ysong Tue Aug 10, 2004 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Does the dribble automatically end if the palm tilts skyward?

Thanks.



Of course not.


But why in NCAA, there is one particular case and the ruling:
A.R. 11. A1, while advancing the ball by dribbling, manages to keep a hand in contact with the ball until it reaches its maximum height. A1 maintains such control as the ball descends, pushing it to the playing court at the last moment; however, after six or seven bounces, A1’s hands are in contact with the ball and the palm of the hand on this particular dribble is skyward. RULING: Violation. The ball has come to rest on the hand while the palm and the fingers are facing upward, so the dribble has ended. When the player continues to move or stand still and dribble, the player has committed a violation by dribbling a second time. (See Rule 9-6.)

Thanks.



Jurassic Referee Tue Aug 10, 2004 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Does the dribble automatically end if the palm tilts skyward?

Thanks.



Of course not.


But why in NCAA, there is one particular case and the ruling:
A.R. 11. A1, while advancing the ball by dribbling, manages to keep a hand in contact with the ball until it reaches its maximum height. A1 maintains such control as the ball descends, pushing it to the playing court at the last moment; however, after six or seven bounces, A1’s hands are in contact with the ball and the palm of the hand on this particular dribble is skyward. RULING: Violation. <font color = red>The ball has come to rest on the hand</font> while the palm and the fingers are facing upward, so the dribble has ended. When the player continues to move or stand still and dribble, the player has committed a violation by dribbling a second time. (See Rule 9-6.)


Ysong, the dribble always ends when the ball has comes to rest. That's the criteria that we use, NOT the position of the hand.

TravelinMan Tue Aug 10, 2004 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Juulie, by rule, you can't travel during a dribble. The 2nd. tap in the air, also by rule, doesn't end that particular dribble either. You can, however, commit an "illegal dribble" with that 2nd tap. That was Tony's point. It is a violation, but it ain't a "travelling" violation.
Exactly.

The play is not traveling.

It is an illegal dribble.

4-15-2
During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air <B>provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).</B>



So if it is not travelling, but rather an illegal dribble, what would your signal be for the violation?
__________________________________________________ _______
"One moment you're waiting for the sky to fall; next you're dazzled by the beauty of it all" - BNL "Lovers in a dangerous time"

Jurassic Referee Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:05am

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Juulie, by rule, you can't travel during a dribble. The 2nd. tap in the air, also by rule, doesn't end that particular dribble either. You can, however, commit an "illegal dribble" with that 2nd tap. That was Tony's point. It is a violation, but it ain't a "travelling" violation.
Exactly.

The play is not traveling.

It is an illegal dribble.

4-15-2
During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air <B>provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).</B>



So if it is not travelling, but rather an illegal dribble, what would your signal be for the violation?

NFHS signal #17-- illegal dribble. The NCAA signal is the same.

Jimgolf Wed Aug 11, 2004 08:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker

A more germane question would be what about the really tall player who dribbles up to a defender, bats the ball over the head of the defender, and then touches the ball on the backside of the defender before it hits the ground. That's only one tap, but it's a travel. You'll see it every once in a while.

I have never seen a player touch the ball on the backside of a defender. Seems like a fight would result.

I guess you mean behind the defender.

Jurassic Referee Wed Aug 11, 2004 08:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker

A more germane question would be what about the really tall player who dribbles up to a defender, bats the ball over the head of the defender, and then <font color = red>touches the ball on the backside of the defender before it hits the ground</font>. That's only one tap, but it's a travel. You'll see it every once in a while.

I have never seen a player touch the ball on the backside of a defender. Seems like a fight would result.


A whistle wouldn't result. :D The ball touching the defender's backside ended the dribble with a loss of player control, and the really tall player can now legally dribble again.

Good point.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1