The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Camp Case Play, What Would You Call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/14756-camp-case-play-what-would-you-call.html)

Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 28, 2004 07:48am

\
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
[/B]
WARNING: The following post is specific to this <font color = red>senario</font>. Don't read too much into it.

[/B][/QUOTE]Nevada, I dont want to be pedantic (cynical is OK), but you might like to start passing your time by learning how to spell properly. The word that you intended to use for this thread is "scenario", not "senario".
Here is the proper spelling:

Main Entry- SCENARIO
- pronunciation- "sce-nar-i-o"
- meaning- "an ouline of the plot of a dramatic or literary work".

Happy to be of assistance. :D

Adam Wed Jul 28, 2004 09:05am

Re: another variable
 
Quote:

Originally posted by cloverdale
my first instinct was to call it a violation but would waited to see who touched it first...in this case A2. Now a DIFFERENT situation...we can agree that if A1 is in the FC and passes the ball to A2 who takes the pass in the air from the BC and lands in the FC that this would be a BC violation...now for the twist. What would the call be, on the previous play, if the ball bounced back in the FC before A2 touched it? Would FC status be reestablished?
Since FC had already been established, and was followed by the ball establishing BC status, it is a violation for anyone on team A to be the first to touch it. Even if the ball rolls all the way to A's basket.

Dan_ref Wed Jul 28, 2004 09:30am

Re: \
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
WARNING: The following post is specific to this <font color = red>senario</font>. Don't read too much into it.

[/B]
Nevada, I dont want to be pedantic (cynical is OK), but you might like to start passing your time by learning how to spell properly. The word that you intended to use for this thread is "scenario", not "senario".
Here is the proper spelling:

Main Entry- SCENARIO
- pronunciation- "sce-nar-i-o"
- meaning- "an ouline of the plot of a dramatic or literary work".

Happy to be of assistance. :D [/B][/QUOTE]


"For 'tis the sport to have the engineer
Hoist with his own petard: and 't shall go hard
But I will delve one yard below their mines,
And blow them at the moon: O, 'tis most sweet,
When in one line two crafts directly meet."

From Hamlet by W. Shakespeare

Camron Rust Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:50am

Filling in the chart...

Expanding it to all possible combinations (some should be obvious to all, some may not be):

<TABLE BORDER=1 CELLPADDING=2 CELLSPACING=2 BGCOLOR=#CCAACC> <TR> <TH>Player A1 Location</TH> <TH>Player A2 Location</TH> <TH>Ball Bounce Location</TH> <TH>Backcourt violation???</TH> </TR> <TR> <TD ROWSPAN=4>Frontcourt</TD> <TD ROWSPAN=2>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>No</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD>Backcourt</TD> <TD>Yes</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD ROWSPAN=2>Backcourt</TD> <TD>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>Yes</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD>Backcourt</TD> <TD>Yes</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD ROWSPAN=4>Backcourt</TD> <TD ROWSPAN=2>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>No</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD>Backcourt</TD> <TD>No</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD ROWSPAN=2>Backcourt</TD> <TD>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>Yes</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD>Backcourt</TD> <TD>No</TD> </TR> </TABLE>

TravelinMan Wed Jul 28, 2004 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Filling in the chart...

Expanding it to all possible combinations (some should be obvious to all, some may not be):

<TABLE BORDER=1 CELLPADDING=2 CELLSPACING=2 BGCOLOR=#CCAACC> <TR> <TH>Player A1 Location</TH> <TH>Player A2 Location</TH> <TH>Ball Bounce Location</TH> <TH>Backcourt violation???</TH> </TR> <TR> <TD ROWSPAN=4>Frontcourt</TD> <TD ROWSPAN=2>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>No</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD>Backcourt</TD> <TD>Yes</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD ROWSPAN=2>Backcourt</TD> <TD>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>Yes</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD>Backcourt</TD> <TD>Yes</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD ROWSPAN=4>Backcourt</TD> <TD ROWSPAN=2>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>No</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD>Backcourt</TD> <TD>No</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD ROWSPAN=2>Backcourt</TD> <TD>Frontcourt</TD> <TD>Yes</TD> </TR> <TR> <TD>Backcourt</TD> <TD>No</TD> </TR> </TABLE>

Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........

Lotto Wed Jul 28, 2004 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........

The ball attains front court status when it touches the frontcourt. You don't need a player in the frontcourt to touch the ball.

Look up the definition of front court/back court in rule 4, and the wording of the violation in rule 9.

ref18 Wed Jul 28, 2004 08:38pm

:cool:

[Edited by ref18 on Jul 28th, 2004 at 09:48 PM]

Lotto Wed Jul 28, 2004 08:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan

Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........

You're right, that isn't a backcourt violation, because front court control has not been established.

You don't need player control in the front court. You only need team control plus the ball having front court status.

ref18 Wed Jul 28, 2004 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan

Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........

You're right, that isn't a backcourt violation, because front court control has not been established.

You don't need player control in the front court. You only need team control plus the ball having front court status.

Sorry about that, you are right,

Rule 9(9)2

A player shall not:
While in team control in its backourt, cause the ball to go from backcourt to frountcourt and return to backcourt, withouth the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, and be the first to touch it in the backcourt.

Maybe I should try to read the book before I post :)

Camron Rust Wed Jul 28, 2004 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan


Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........


The location of the ball that is not being held or dribbled is where ever it last touched the floor or player.


The critera for a backcourt violation are:
1. Team control
2. Ball has had front court status
3. Team A was the last to touch before it returned to the backcourt.
4. Team A is the first to touch the ball after it returned to the backcourt.

So, the ball gains FC status the moment it bounces in the FC. When A2 catches it in the backcourt. He causes it to be in the backcourt. A1 was the last to touch the ball before it returned to the backcourt (even though it briefly had FC status after A1 released the ball). A2 was the first to touch the ball after it returned to the backcourt.

TravelinMan Wed Jul 28, 2004 08:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........

The ball attains front court status when it touches the frontcourt. You don't need a player in the frontcourt to touch the ball.

Look up the definition of front court/back court in rule 4, and the wording of the violation in rule 9.

Thanks for the explanation Lotto. Like I said I am not omniscient, especially when it come to backcourt violations. This is a tricky subject.

rainmaker Wed Jul 28, 2004 09:58pm


Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells


Since FC had already been established, and was followed by the ball establishing BC status, it is a violation for anyone on team A to be the first to touch it. Even if the ball rolls all the way to A's basket.

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto

The ball attains front court status when it touches the frontcourt. You don't need a player in the frontcourt to touch the ball.

Okay, so which is it? Can't be both!

Editted to add: Should have finished reading before I posted this. Touching the floor confers status, so Snaq is wrong about the ball rolling to the basket. Right?

[Edited by rainmaker on Jul 28th, 2004 at 11:01 PM]

cloverdale Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:26pm

fc status
 
always thought that the ball and both feet must be over the division line before fc status is established, not just the ball...any comments would be welcomed...im reading from the previous posts that if just the ball is dribbled over the d/line and then dribbled back into the bc this constitutes a violation?

Lotto Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:33pm

Re: fc status
 
Quote:

Originally posted by cloverdale
always thought that the ball and both feet must be over the division line before fc status is established, not just the ball...any comments would be welcomed...im reading from the previous posts that if just the ball is dribbled over the d/line and then dribbled back into the bc this constitutes a violation?
This is only true for a player dribbling form the back court into the front court. In all other cases, the ball has front court status as soon as it touches something (or someone) who is in the front court.

TravelinMan Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:47pm

Re: Re: fc status
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
This is only true for a player dribbling form the back court into the front court. [/B]
Well, actually it is true for a player(s) advancing the ball from the backcourt to the frontcourt. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 with one foot in backcourt and one foot in frontcourt. A2 is still in backcourt until both feet and ball are in frontcourt. Agreed?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1