The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2004, 12:49am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
because while it is a mistake by the officials/table crew, it is not a correctable error
Disagree. It's a correctible error as per rule 2-10-1(b)- "awarding an unmerited free throw".
JR,
Go back and re-read the original post again. It states that the game is stopped BEFORE the administration of the second free throw for a time-out. It is during this time-out that the officials are told they should have been shooting 1-and-1 not 2. So, all we have is the official giving misinformation to the players on the first FT, just as in the case play you cited. Since they never awarded an unmerited FT, this situation does not qualify as a correctable error.
Still disagree. Read case book play 2.10.1SitD. Very similar. There's no further actual correction to be made in this case either, which is supposed to be your point, but note the language that is used therein- "Play continues briefly with B1 advancing the ball before the official RECOGNIZES THE ERROR and stops play. Again note the particular word "Error". Then note that the actual heading of this particular case book play is "CORRECTIBLE ERRORS".
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1