The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 18, 2004, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

If another player touched the ball anytime during that fumble though, team control is immediately lost-
Since when did "touching" a loose ball establish team control? Team A can only lose team control if there is a try or tap for goal, if there is a dead ball or if team B gains team control. For team B to gain team control, one of B's players would have to establish player control. That means a team B player would have to be dribbling or holding a live ball inbounds.

I guess you could rule that, if following the touch by B1, the ball hit the floor, it was a dribble by B1. However, whether you can or cannot continue a dribble is determined by player, not team, control.
This is another one of those,"There is not a play in the case book to cover this," situations.

4-15-4-d says B1 touching ENDS the dribble, but it does not say it ends A1's ended dribble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1